Old 08-01-2011, 05:58 PM   #1

1975 31' Sovereign
Austin , Texas
'75 Sovereign electrical woes

Noob here. Just bought a '75 31' Sovereign in great shape from a guy in Missouri. He said everything was working electrically the last time he used it, but I can't get anything to power on at all.

Here's the deal:

The 230v cable coming out of the back bumper had been cut to add a different type plug to the end of it. The original cut piece was still there so I spliced it all back together nice and neat, and then used the 230v to 110v adapter that was there to plug into a 110v outlet on my generator.

I got nothing. I found the breakers under the back bed / seat, and they were both wired up and turned on. I turned them off / on a couple of times to get the dust out so to speak, and still nothing.

All fuses looked intact.

12v battery is missing, so there is nothing hooked up there.

where do I go from here?

any and all advice greatly appreciated!

Old 08-01-2011, 06:14 PM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Sioux Falls , South Dakota
Welcome!

So that 220 volt plug had 4 lugs?

Interesting . . .

Splitrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 06:23 PM   #3
x

XXXX , XXXX
Hello and welcome to the forums.
First the shore power cable that you are calling 230V is not. It is a 110 V 30 AMP RV cable. The adapter you attached is a 30 AMP to 15 AMP adapter not 230V to 110 V adapter.
The first step I would take is to start at the beiginning and make sure your generator has power at the 110V receptacle, then check your splice and make sure it is good and you spliced the wires properly IE: white to white, black to black and green to green.
It's also possible that the original 30Amp male end of the shore power cable was damaged and that's why it was cut off.
The fuses you speak of are for the 12VDC side of things and do not have anything to do with the 110VAC shore power.