Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2009, 05:02 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
new york , New York
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
59 Tradewind 'City Power' electrical problem

The atached photo tells the story. The Back wire needs to be attached to a terminal to make thie city power work.

We cannot figure out where. Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance

Stephan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0872.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	212.4 KB
ID:	83004  
__________________

__________________
xposure285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 06:16 PM   #2
Ronald D
 
1965 26' Overlander
Welshpool , New Brunswick
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 29
Images: 5
It appears the wire must be attached to one of the lugs that have the jumper between them. One of the lugs must be loose to allow the wire to be free.
__________________

__________________
Ronald D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 06:55 PM   #3
Vintage Alum. Enthusiast
 
flyfshr's Avatar

 
1959 24' Tradewind
Phoenix , Arizona
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: I currently do not own a 2nd Airstream
Posts: 4,319
Images: 40
Hi ~

First off, we need to figure out where that black wire is coming from. Do I see that it is coming out of the incoming shore power plug from the outside of the trailer? It is too new looking to be original and thus means a PO (prior owner) put it in. Anything a PO did is suspect and you'll need to see how the shore power plug is wired. Start there. Please post a picture of what that looks like. Is it the original Bargman connection with the metal flip up spring loaded door? Those breakers aren't original looking either. If yours is a California made TradeWind, it should have a Bulldog electrical panel and the breakers for those are still available. Do you still have the panel cover?

So tell us about this '59 TW of yours.

Brad
FF
__________________
4CU 2699 / AIR 10 / TAC AZ-1

I'm haunted by aluminum.
Charter Member of the 4 Corners Unit.
flyfshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 11:36 AM   #4
1 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
new york , New York
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
59 tradewinds "City Power" electrical problem

Brad,
Thanks for response.
I have attached a revised hi res. for you to check out.
There is an old b30 amp breaker siting on the floor that fits the back slot. The dual 20 amp does not snap onto the pole.
I've attached photo of the plate.

Genearal info: It has original keys, I'm second owner! I have just taken out and replaced entire floor. Will need some help locating some fixture and fittings cabinets are mint! Fridge and cooker good shape bathromm is good noow new floor is in. Has double bed not 2 twins.

I'll send you some photos of the TradeWinds later this week.

Need electrics, because it's getting to warm to work on it!

Best Stephan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0872.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	233.0 KB
ID:	83036   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0877.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	352.2 KB
ID:	83037  

__________________
xposure285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 12:45 PM   #5
Vintage Alum. Enthusiast
 
flyfshr's Avatar

 
1959 24' Tradewind
Phoenix , Arizona
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: I currently do not own a 2nd Airstream
Posts: 4,319
Images: 40
That dual 20 amp isn't the right brand to snap into the panel. What does the outside shore power plug look like and have you checked out how it is wired up? You'll need to know which wire is for hot, neutral and ground. The green wire showing is the ground to the shell, the white wires that go into the wall are for the outlets so now its just figuring out the wires that come into the box and how to wire them to the distribution panel. I believe the black should hook to the bottom leg of the one where the green wire is screwed in but I would recommend you find the right breakers that fir that panel so you can button it up by putting the original cover back on. Pretty certain it won't if it has the wrong breakers in it.

I have a loose one I could shoot you a picture of so you have something to find. Probably has some numbers on it too. I'll check later when I get home from work tonight.

Brad
FF
__________________
4CU 2699 / AIR 10 / TAC AZ-1

I'm haunted by aluminum.
Charter Member of the 4 Corners Unit.
flyfshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 07:49 AM   #6
1 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
new york , New York
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
59 tradewind city power problem

Did as you recommended and removed the twin braker, what sould I do with the 2 black wires that went into the twin braker?

Have attached more photos.
__________________
xposure285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 08:34 AM   #7
Vintage Alum. Enthusiast
 
flyfshr's Avatar

 
1959 24' Tradewind
Phoenix , Arizona
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: I currently do not own a 2nd Airstream
Posts: 4,319
Images: 40
Your photos didn't come through. Please re-post.

Brad
FF
__________________
4CU 2699 / AIR 10 / TAC AZ-1

I'm haunted by aluminum.
Charter Member of the 4 Corners Unit.
flyfshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2009, 03:33 PM   #8
Ronald D
 
1965 26' Overlander
Welshpool , New Brunswick
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 29
Images: 5
The distribution box pictured is a 220 volt, two pole box. The jumper wire between the two lugs is there to distribute 110 volts to both sides of the box. There is no 220 in sight. The tandem 110 volt breaker pictured will work fine if it fits the bar, I think it might be a Murray (as they were color coded, blue--15 amp, red--20 amp, green--30 amp.etc) If that breaker does not plug in you need to find a General Electric tandem.
The cover should go back on just fine. Seeing as there is no 220, there is no need for a 2 pole breaker, just single pole or tandem single pole breakers (as shown). Wire coming in from plug should be three wires--green-ground, white- neutral, black- hot. The ground (green) and the neutral (white) should go under the screws on the right side, the black (hot) goes under either lug and distributes 110 volts to both sides.
__________________
Ronald D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:43 AM   #9
1 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
new york , New York
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
59 tradewind city power problem

Thanks for your reply. Just for clariffication i have attached a photo with all lugs and screws labelled. If you can say what goes where that would be great. I will purchase the GE breaker today if I can find somewhere that stocks it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0872.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	219.4 KB
ID:	83225  
__________________
xposure285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:50 AM   #10
1 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
new york , New York
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
59 tradewind city power problem

flyfshr

Find photo's attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0879.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	200.6 KB
ID:	83227   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0880.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	236.2 KB
ID:	83228  

__________________
xposure285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:20 AM   #11
Ronald D
 
1965 26' Overlander
Welshpool , New Brunswick
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 29
Images: 5
The first picture shows a cap with three wires, looks like black and two whites. First of all, this should be a cable, three wires covered by a black rubber type insulation. The cable type is called SO or SJO. You should ask for 10/3 SO or SJO when buying it. Get a comfortable length, 30 feet? Get a cord cap for it at the same time and install the cord cap black wire on gold screw, white wire on shiny one, green wire on green one. In the panel put the two black wires that were on the tandem breaker and put the tandem breaker back in, insert the bottom first and plug the top into the buss. Put the cable into the box using a 3/4" or 1" romex connector to connect the cable to the box, put the black wire onto either one of the lugs at the top of the box, tighten both lugs. Install the white and ground wires to the four screws at the bottom right. ( the way it is now, if you plug that in there is a dead short circuit) Put the cover back on and everything is done.

Ron

Master electrician (Massachusetts) since 1971
__________________
Ronald D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:47 AM   #12
1 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
new york , New York
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
59 tradewind city power problem

Ronald,

Thanks again for this. I just want to make sure I understand as I am NOT a master electrician. Most odf you instructions are very straight forward.

Questions:
Currently the Earth wire from the cap is attached to th scew at thevery bottom right of the box. You're saying it belongs on one of the bottom of the 4 screws where the black cable is currently attached.

The current tandem breaker does not fit on the buss . Should I buy a GM tandem breaker so that it fits Is there a model number?

Thanks
__________________
xposure285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:48 AM   #13
Vintage Alum. Enthusiast
 
flyfshr's Avatar

 
1959 24' Tradewind
Phoenix , Arizona
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: I currently do not own a 2nd Airstream
Posts: 4,319
Images: 40
Now he sounds like he knows what he's talking about. Follow his directions and let us know how it comes out. You need some electricity in that TradeWind.


Let me go look at my extra breaker for a number. Can you post a picture of your panel cover?

Brad
FF
__________________
4CU 2699 / AIR 10 / TAC AZ-1

I'm haunted by aluminum.
Charter Member of the 4 Corners Unit.
flyfshr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 01:37 PM   #14
1 Rivet Member
 
Currently Looking...
new york , New York
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
59 tradewind city power problem

here it is.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0876.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	264.5 KB
ID:	83263  
__________________

__________________
xposure285 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Problem QuietWater Airstream Motorhome Forums 11 06-22-2009 12:06 AM
Electrical problem - 1965 Dr JJ 1965 - 1969 Globetrotter 3 06-17-2008 01:13 PM
City/Battery Power Switch Broken? '63 Safari DenverAaron Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 8 10-06-2006 10:32 AM
How Long without City Power The Flintstones Generators & Solar Power 7 09-27-2006 02:02 AM
Electrical Problem NASCAR345 Airstream Motorhome Forums 15 03-13-2003 07:23 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.