Old 12-17-2006, 03:25 AM   #1
Very american 4 a french

1971 27' Overlander
DUNKERQUE / FRANCE , Nord
50hz best choice power-converter

Hi the Community;
My Magnetek power converter charger is now out ... so i have to replace it for the next season. I plan now because the time to do the choice, the order, shipping to FRANCE, I think that 'll take a few monthes.
What is the best choice knowing that I use AC 240/50 hz in french campgroungs that i transform in AC 120/50hz to the power converter charger. I wonder if it's the 50hz frequency that my Magnetek has'nt accept and became out by this way.Is it really THE problem, I don't know.
I've red post in different threads that Intellipower was able to support this kind of differences but I'm not an expert.
just advice me what you think about that and, of course, thank you by advance.

Bruno.

My AIRSTREAMLIFE ning
brunoffrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2006, 03:33 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2000 25' Safari
West of Fort Worth , Texas
Hi Bruno,
I can't answer your question, but I have one of my own for you.
Is 50hz the standard in Europe? We use 60 hz here in the U.S.
Good luck with your project.
Dave

Old 12-17-2006, 06:06 AM   #3
Very american 4 a french

1971 27' Overlander
Hi Dave;
Yes the 50hz is the standart in Europe so I think ( and Remcolent too) that that don't disturb the work of the converter. My A/c and fridge run well in spite of they are genuine from Airstream factory or from prior owner (running at first in 60hz and now in 50hz ).
So thank you for your proposition but what is the model ?

Bruno.
My AIRSTREAMLIFE ning
Old 12-17-2006, 07:36 AM   #4
3 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
2005 22' Interstate
Afton , Virginia