Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2015, 02:06 PM   #1
Rivet Master
 
ColoradoLady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,040
Question 30 amps vs 50 amps @ Rv parks

Why do RV PARKS have 30 amps or 50 amps electrical connections for trailers? So, with my BAMBI, I require a 30 amp connection, I think. If I go to an RV park that only has a 50 amp available, what do I do!? Do I need a 50 amp adapter? Will it hurt my BAMBI?
__________________

__________________
ColoradoLady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 02:18 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,811
Images: 12
It is an evolutionary thing.
The first offering of electricity that campgrounds offered was 15 amps. That was for those who did not have a Coleman lantern and could not find their pants in the morning in the tent. Next came 20 amps for the first trailers with air conditioners. Then came 30 amps for the boxes that had air conditioning and electric hot water heaters. Now we have 50 amps for those who have 2 or more air conditioners, 2 or more 50 in. tvs, electric base board heaters, and of course a hair dryer.
__________________

__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 02:20 PM   #3
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,403
Images: 5
Yes you need to carry an adapter for these circumstances....and no it won't hurt your Bambi.

Like this one. Shop for your favorite style and price.

http://www.amazon.com/NU-CORD-50M30F...amp+rv+adapter
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 02:23 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
1994 34' Limited
Round Rock , Texas
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 47
Yes on the adapter, and no it won't hurt your trailer as long as the pole is correctly wired. You just won't blow your fuse if you go over 30 amps draw. Every day you plug items into electrical circuits that are rated for higher than their actual draw (for example, your hair dryer that Howie mentions above ).
__________________
txtwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 02:33 PM   #5
Moderator
Commercial Member
 
eubank's Avatar
 
1967 30' Sovereign
Bosque Farms , New Mexico
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,426
Kind of depends on where you like to go. Up here in high country, the need for 50 amps is pretty low, so we've not bothered to go switching bunches of sites over to that direction. Even in those cases, though, the box includes both a 50 and a 30.

There will be some high-end parks around that try to appeal to a higher-end crowd and may offer only 50 or 100 amps, no 30 amps. If your intent is to visit one of these, then your best bet is to get yourself one of the adapters. Here's the doo-dad on Amazon, but you'll be able to pick one up at lots of places:

http://smile.amazon.com/Camco-55175-...amp+rv+adapter


Lynn
__________________
WBCCI 21043
eubank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 02:36 PM   #6
Rivet Master
 
dznf0g's Avatar

 
2007 30' Classic
Oswego , Illinois
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 9,403
Images: 5
Sometimes, Lynn, it's not a choice. I have only needed mine a couple of times while pulling off the road for a quick overnight and the only spots available were 50Amp only.....A/C was needed to sleep. The first time, I got to buy my adapter at an inflated price at the campground store. I now carry it always and have had to use it again.
__________________
-Rich-

"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy." - Red Green
dznf0g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 02:59 PM   #7
cwf
Rivet Master
 
cwf's Avatar
 
1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 5,931
Images: 2
Welcome! As stated, the more power you "need", the higher / bigger the AMPs. Our 34' AS was 30 Amp when built from 1999 till 2013 when I purchased and became caretakers #3.

We immediately realized one AC would not be a complete solution for "Texas Summer". That meant AC#2 and I had to improve the elec service from 30 to 50 AMPs in order to "operate" both simultaneously.

The bonus... My wife can run both TV for grandkritters, both ACs, the Microwave (MW), coffee pot, mixer, hair dryer, curling iron and water heater... And no breakers "Pop"!!!!! Momma happy!

Now, I can "camp" with no electricity.... Or running water... Heck I could even sleep "out", But it does act on my allergies a bit...

So, I try to keep the bedroom AC temp above 40 degrees when she isn't looking and pretend to be "upset" over the extra stuff.... Yup, I'm just a guy....
__________________
Peace and Blessings..
Channing
WBCCI# 30676
cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 03:23 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
KJRitchie's Avatar

 
2008 25' Classic
Wichita Falls , Texas
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,217
Don't most 50 amp posts have the 30amp connector also? I've never found one that didn't.
__________________
KJRitchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 04:13 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
mimiandrews's Avatar

 
1966 22' Safari
Weatherford , Texas
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,425
I have seen one 50-amp only connector in my very limited experience with campgrounds. Having the adapter saved our trip that time. Our first site there was 30-amp, but it was wired incorrectly and we refused it. Only alternative was this 50-amp only site. Fortunately we had the adapter and it worked out OK.
__________________
mimiandrews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 04:21 PM   #10
2 Rivet Member
 
halftimer's Avatar
 
Currently Looking...
irving , Texas
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 69
If you go to Alaska take your 15 amp adapter they don't have thirty that I found.
__________________
halftimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 04:26 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
GeocamperAS's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 28
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Wauwatosa , Wisconsin
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 725
Images: 37
The 50 to 30 amp adapters mentioned should only be used if your camper has a 30 amp MAIN circuit breaker.
__________________
Judging a person does not define who they are, it defines who YOU are.
GeocamperAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 06:26 PM   #12
Rivet Master
 
2005 19' Safari
GLENDALE , AZ
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,441
We stayed at a Washington State Park on the coast last year, and the campsite had both 50 and 30 amp sockets. However, the 30 amp was corroded; and the contacts were burned so badly that they had sprung and had no pin retention. Consequently, our shore power connector wouldn't stay plugged securely in the socket.

We were about to see if we could move to another site, when I remembered I had a 50-to-30 amp "dog bone" that was purchased at Walmart years ago and never used. I checked the 50 amp socket in the post, and it was brand new and looked like it had never been used.

So, that dogbone finally came in handy by saving us the hassle of moving to another site.
__________________
Phoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 07:08 PM   #13
Moderator
 
moosetags's Avatar

 
2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 10,762
Images: 5
In our fairly extensive camping experience, we have found 50 amp only connections twice.

Also, all should be aware that at the Teraport sites at the Mothership, there is one electrical box that is shared by two sites. These boxes have one 30 amp and one 50 outlet. If you are second to arrive and the 30 amp outlet is already in use, you will need a 50 to 30 adapter. If two 50 amp Airstreams show up at the same power pole, it could create a problem.

Brian
__________________
SuEllyn & Brian McCabe
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7
2015 FC 25' FB (Lucy) with HAHA
2005 Suburban 2500 Quadrasteer (Olivia) & 2018 Silverado 2500 (Lillian)
moosetags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2015, 06:01 PM   #14
3 Rivet Member
 
2000 36' Land Yacht XC Diesel
Fresno , California
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 171
I've only been to two parks that only had 50 amp and 110 outlets and (surprise, surprise) they were both Motorcoach resorts. I remember talking to people about 100amp hookups not being too far off in the figure. I need 50 amp to run my 2nd AC. I also cannot sleep when it's too warm (1sf world problem much?) so I get pretty miffed when I show up to a park that advertised 50amps with nothing over 30 to be found.
__________________

__________________
LucasS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Going from 50 amps to 30 amps for a 23FB KWN306 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 01-28-2015 12:12 PM
Best sources for information on state parks, national parks etc. pandjg On The Road... 15 04-24-2014 02:08 PM
15 Amps vs 30 Amps billida1 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 8 10-01-2010 09:37 AM
extension cord rated for 20 amps? Martha Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 15 02-28-2003 04:00 PM
Meter for amps davidz71 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 05-09-2002 11:21 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.