Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2012, 07:51 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
 
1995 31' Land Yacht LE
Jacksonville , Florida
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
30 amp to 50 amp conversion

I just realized today that my single 13,500 BTU AC is not quite adequate for the Florida heat. I have a 1995 31' Land Yacht LE. I am considering adding an additional roof AC in the bedroom or at least upgrading to a 15,000 BTU AC. But I really don`t think a single unit is going to cut it. I realize I will have to upgrade to 50 AMP. Has anyone done this? And is the Land Yacht LE prewired for an additional AC? Any info would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

__________________
FLMedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 09:49 PM   #2
Rivet Master
 
richinny's Avatar
 
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
you'll find some information here:
http://www.airforums.com/forums/f427...ml#post1140320
__________________

__________________
Ricky
2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 05:01 PM   #3
1 Rivet Member
 
1995 31' Land Yacht LE
Jacksonville , Florida
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Well, I have yet to find a service center who will attempt the conversion. Or maybe they just don't know how. I've tried Camping Wxxxd and a couple others here in Jacksonville. No luck yet. I hope someone can help steer me in the right direction.
__________________
FLMedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 05:10 PM   #4
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
Try jd sanders airstream in alachua, near Gainesville. Call and ask for mark, he will tell you if they can do it or not. Jim
__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 05:16 PM   #5
Rivet Master
 
DaveFL's Avatar
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,479
Images: 15
Is the land yacht le a MH or trailer?
__________________
DaveFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 05:22 PM   #6
Full Timers/Diesel power.
 
Mike Leary's Avatar
 
1983 31' Airstream310
Cactus Hug , Arizona
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,540
Images: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveFL View Post
Is the land yacht le a MH or trailer?
Matters not, AS was was not thinking that parks would go 50 amp and, therefore, be able to run both roof airs. We have the same problem, dual roof, 30 amps, without tearing out the whole rear inside, it's impossible to get to all the connections to run the rear air and still be able to run both roofs from the gen set.
__________________
"A settled wisdom, plus the itch to be elsewhere"
Mike Leary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 05:34 PM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
Seems there was a thread years ago on how both acs could operate at once. Jim
__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 05:37 PM   #8
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
Search running two air conditioners at once, jim
__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 06:13 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
TG Twinkie's Avatar
 
1974 Argosy 26
Morrill , Nebraska
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5,140
Images: 2
Blog Entries: 5
Are both A/C's fed from the same circuit breaker? If they have separate breakers that means they are wired separately.
If one were to wire the panel for 220/240 volts, one hot leg could provide power to A/C #1, the other hot leg could provide power to A/C #2.
Most panels I've seen in RV's have a "split buss" system. this is the reason there is a jumper between the 2 big lugs in the panel on the hot side.
If you remove the jumper and wire the shore power cord for 220 volts then connect each of the two hot legs to their respective hot lugs (L1 and L2) and the neutral and the ground to their respective terminating points. All devices would still be powered by 110volts.
It would however require a panel with enough capacity to install a two pole main breaker instead of a single as we are use to seeing.
If the panel had the capacity (space) to install all of the breakers in that exist today one the L1 buss except for the second A/C. All systems would function as they do today.
The second A/C would run off of the L2 buss.
This would require a 4 wire shore power cord L1,L2, Neutral and ground.
With an adaptor wired correctly for a 30 amp 110 on one end and a 4 wire receptacle on the other, you could plug in to the standard 30 amp receptacle where there are no 50 amp/220 receptacles available. All systems would work normally except the second A/C would not have power.
This setup assumes that the 50 amp service at campgrounds is a 220 volt 4 wire system.
If not, then I've typed this for nothing. LOL
__________________
Knowledge: "A gift to be shared. A treasure to receive."
TG Twinkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 07:08 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
JimGolden's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
1977 31' Excella 500
Berkeley Springs , West Virginia
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,619
Images: 7
What Color Is Your Roof?

Have you painted your roof white?

I have a 34 footer and a Carrier 15,000BTU a/c and it keeps it nice and cool inside. BUT, before I even upgraded to the new Carrier, I painted the roof white on my coach and, no exaggeration, it dropped the temps 10 degrees!

You need to use the right process for aluminum if you want to do it. I got a metal etcher from Aircraft Spruce and Specialty. You must etch the aluminum first (it's simple, just mask off the big area you want to paint white, then wipe this etching stuff on with a roller....wait so long like a half hour or so, then you rinse it all off with a hose), then you must use a special primer that is made for etched aluminum. I got mine from a buddy who works for US Air and they paint their airplanes with it. But you can also get it from Aircraft Spruce (or Wick's as well). It's typically made of Zinc Chromate or an epoxy substance. But anyway, you first etch it, then you use the correct primer that is made for aluminum. After that, you can use any good paint. I used Rustoleum Gloss White; got a gallon jug at Lowes and put it on with a foam roller. It looks great, and really helps cut the thermal gain.

OK, after you do that, you can still run a 15,000 BTU a/c unit on 30 amp. You just can't run the microwave and a hair dryer at the same time.


As for wiring up a 50 amp, I did get a new 55 amp converter that I plan to install as well. The branch circuitry really doesn't change much; you just have to remove the old converter and replace with the new, and you should have more spaces in it for additional circuit breakers. You'll have to get a new main chord to run from the converter to the 50 amp outlet, but it's not a big deal. Any decent electrician could do this for you.

Best of luck,
__________________
- Jim
JimGolden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 08:41 PM   #11
Rivet Master
 
vswingfield's Avatar
 
1983 34' Excella
1967 24' Tradewind
Little Rock , Arkansas
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,773
Images: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimGolden View Post
...

As for wiring up a 50 amp, I did get a new 55 amp converter that I plan to install as well. The branch circuitry really doesn't change much; you just have to remove the old converter and replace with the new, and you should have more spaces in it for additional circuit breakers. You'll have to get a new main chord to run from the converter to the 50 amp outlet, but it's not a big deal. Any decent electrician could do this for you.

Best of luck,
Changing to a 55 amp converter is completely different than changing the AC service to the entire trailer. The converter's amperage is how many 12 volt DC amps it is capable of putting out to the DC system, including charging the batteries. Changing form 30 amp AC to 50 amp AC is an upgrade to the entire AC supply to the trailer, not the charging power of the converter.

Also, the main AC power cord does not go directly to the converter, but instead, to the main breaker box.

These are completely different systems. The converter merely plugs into one of the outlets wired to one of the breakers.

__________________

Back to the topic of increasing AC capacity to facilitate the addition of a second Air Conditioner. I asked about it in the past, and Andy suggested the addition of a second 30 amp system and cord to power the second unit vs a conversion to a single cord 50 amp system. He said that you could use a 50 to 30 amp adapter to plug one 30 amp cord into the 50 amp outlet and plug the other 30 amp cord into the 30 amp outlet. He claimed that it was easier and less expensive.

I haven't added a second Air Conditioner, but when/if I do, I will consider this option vs converting to a single 50 amp cord.
__________________
Vaughan
vswingfield is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 06:21 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
DaveFL's Avatar
 
2000 31' Land Yacht
Central , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,479
Images: 15
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Leary View Post
Matters not, AS was was not thinking that parks would go 50 amp and, therefore, be able to run both roof airs. We have the same problem, dual roof, 30 amps, without tearing out the whole rear inside, it's impossible to get to all the connections to run the rear air and still be able to run both roofs from the gen set.
Does to anybody giving opinion on system, MH are wired so that the a/c's can be run at the same time from the generator, new wiring can be installed using the exisiting wires. In the genset compartment is a junction box, in it are the two circuits, 30 amp and 20 amp, in the cabinet over the sink is a switch marked Front or Rear A/C when set on front using the genset both work.
__________________
DaveFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 09:11 AM   #13
4 Rivet Member
 
raveson's Avatar
 
1989 34.5' Airstream 345
boca raton , Florida
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 286
I had the same problem on my 345. The difference is there are two air units on the roof and would only both work if gen was on. The gen has two circuts, 30 and 20 amp. I installed from Power Solutions for about $100 a system that allows you to divert the 20 amp circut through an additional cord to the power pole when on shore power, allowing both units to operate. An inexpensive and easy solution. If you have two existing units on the roof, the solution is simple, if an additional unit is added, then more wireing will probably be needed, but hopefully you will not have to go to 50amp service.
__________________
raveson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2012, 09:20 AM   #14
2 Rivet Member
 
lylesgl's Avatar
 
2007 27' Safari FB SE
Springfield , Virginia
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 82
In addition to the 15K a/c I'm adding a 13.5K to the bedroom area of my 27FB. JC can do the mod by adding a receptical outside the airstream that will power the a/c unit independently. This does away with the need to upgrade to 50amp system.
__________________

__________________
lylesgl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.