Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2005, 10:28 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member
 
Ga Pockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
30 amp to 50 amp

Prior to summertime, I plan to convert my unit to 50 amp service ( I hate load shedding). Has anyone already done this using the existing power panel and new breakers (spacesavers or "piggybacks)? I did a search already but didn't get what I was looking for. thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
Ga Pockets
Ga Pockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 11:28 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
1975 29' Ambassador
Reno , Nevada
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,351
My 75 Ambassador has three circuits. One for the AC, one for front and one for rear. I separated these out so that I can plug each one individually into separate sources.

If I want to run off a 30 or 50 amp service, I would need to use a breakout box that will split and fuse the feed. For a 50 amp, I could see maybe an eight outlet breakout with four outlets and two (50 amp could support three or four) circuits on each side of neutral. For the 30 amp, a pair of circuits driving four outlets should do. Then plug the house circuits into the breakout box as needed for what you do.

But then, since I don't usually run anything more than standard household circuits to my rig, leaving it without a breakout box works for what I do.

As far as your existing box, it is probably a single phase box so to go to a 50 amp box you will need to replace it with a two (or split) phase box. Keep in mind that it is not a service entrance and, thus, ground and neutral are kept isolated.

They don't make these circuit breaker boxes with compactness as a desired feature! This is one reason I am looking at things like outlet strips or cord sets with built in circuit breakers that I can use to split and fuse rather than a full blown box. But the 'code' is also a concern.

Do read the electrical code, expecially the chapter on RV electric and use that as a guide for your efforts! And, if you do any serious wiring reconfiguring, it might pay to have a competent and knowledgable bona fide electrician who knows about the RV specific aspects of the code to check out the plan and its execution. to make sure it is properly done.
__________________

__________________
bryanl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 11:47 AM   #3
Retired Moderator
 
john hd's Avatar
 
1992 29' Excella
madison , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,644
Images: 40
pockets

i would shy away from changing your rig to 50 amp. you should be ok with a 30 amp service.

the main reason is that not all campgrounds offer 50 amp services.

should you decide to go the 50 amp route it may be handy to have a conversion plug for 30 amp only campgrounds.

john
__________________
you call them ferrets, i call them weasels.
john hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 01:19 PM   #4
2 Rivet Member
 
Ga Pockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
My 5r had 50 amp (washer/dryer etc.) and I just made a 50 to 30 adapter for use when I could not get 50 amp and I kept the adapter when the insurance folks picked it up. I use my RV as my home away from home as I am on the road most of the time and with few exceptions have been able to get long term sites with 50 amps . I am installing a electric element on my HWH which along with microwave/ac/ vacum cleaner & small freezer pushes 30 amp to the max. One of the electricians here at the power plant is going to help me do the change out.
__________________
Ga Pockets
Ga Pockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 01:39 PM   #5
Retired Moderator
 
john hd's Avatar
 
1992 29' Excella
madison , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,644
Images: 40
pockets

i forgot you full time!

if you are the max, then by all means upgrade it!

john
__________________
you call them ferrets, i call them weasels.
john hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 01:58 PM   #6
2 Rivet Member
 
Ga Pockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
John, What utility do you work with? I am working for Southern Company on a Gulf Power SCR Project down in Fla.
__________________
Ga Pockets
Ga Pockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2005, 04:08 PM   #7
Retired Moderator
 
john hd's Avatar
 
1992 29' Excella
madison , Wisconsin
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,644
Images: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ga Pockets
John, What utility do you work with? I am working for Southern Company on a Gulf Power SCR Project down in Fla.
alliant energy in wisconsin. lineman 17 years.

john
__________________
you call them ferrets, i call them weasels.
john hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2005, 10:09 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
wb13798's Avatar
 
2004 28' Classic
Currently Looking...
huntsville , Alabama
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 866
Images: 1
i have accumilated the items to change over to 50 amps on my mh . the fuse panel in the mh is a sq d 50 amp and has a 10 agw strap between the busses.
remove strap and wire for 50 should not be a problem. my second ac will be wired to the panel. no other expansion planned other wise a new power panel would be required.
problem how do i power the appliances when on 30 amp if i split the panel??
thinking i will not split the box but contiue to use the second breaker box set up. i have a single breaker box for the ac and only has power when i run the gen set or repower with a seperate extension.
then it would be a rewire and install the gen and external switch box. power panels donot get rewired.
__________________
AL
2007 chevrolet 2500 duramax 6.6
allison 6 speed
2004 classic 28 WB , Pro Pride P-3 hitch
centramatics wheel ballancers 300-556
wb13798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 02:37 PM   #9
2 Rivet Member
 
Ga Pockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
My previous 5r had a 50 amp box with split and I made a 50 Amp(female) to 30 amp (male)adapter. On the (50 amp) female end of the adaptor , I put a jumper across X & Y so that both legs (X & Y) were energized from the 30 amp service end. You will only have 30 amp total but both sides of your box will be hot.
__________________
Ga Pockets
Ga Pockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2005, 08:21 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
rseagle's Avatar
 
2004 22' International CCD
Spotsylvania , Virginia
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 663
Images: 33
I bought a Marinco Park Power 30 Amp Molded RV Cordset - 1 Foot (1PCMRV) today, to use with my standard 25' 30 Amp power cords. It has the NEMA L5 female receptical that plugs into the AC power point on my 22' CCD. It came with 2 black Lexan locking rings: an Easy Lock ring (installed) and a threaded ring (uninstalled).

My problem is: I need the threaded ring installed on the cordset to work with my Airstream. But there are two yellow molded rubber lips on the housing that are of a larger diameter than the rings. The ring sits between the lips. How do I work the rings over these lips, so that I can put the right one on?

Surely I'm not the first Airstreamer that has purchased this product and pondered the same thing? I've got an email into Marinco's Tech Support, but they won't be back in the office before Tuesday and I'll be on the road by then with a useless adapter. Any suggestions?

Here's the product link:

http://marinco.securesites.net/scpt/...0Recreational#

Thanks.
__________________
Bob
---------------
"THE BAUXITE BUNGALOW"
2004 22' CCD
1997 F-150
TAC VA-12
AIR# 4749
ex WBCCI# 1430
rseagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 01:36 PM   #11
New Member
 
2006 23' Safari SE
Gainesville , Florida
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Now it's September 2008. Same question: How do you swap the threaded ring for the installed Quick Lock ring?
__________________
David Fann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 03:19 PM   #12
Site Team
 
, Minnesota
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,940
Images: 59
You must remove the plug assembly from the boot. Then you invaginate the boot and insert it into the ring.
__________________
markdoane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 06:55 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
HowieE's Avatar
 
1991 34' Excella
Princeton , New Jersey
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 6,811
Images: 12
About the only place you will be able to get a small 50 amp panel will be a camping supply house.

Unless the hot water heater element is 220 volts, and I doubt it, why don't you just install another small 30 amp camper panel and have 2 separate services at 25 each. Nothing I see in your list requires 220 volts.
__________________
WBCCI 12156 AIR 3144 WACHUNG TAC NJ6
2004 Excursion 4x4
1991 34 ft. Excella +220,000 miles, new laminated flooring, new upholstery, new 3200 lbs axles

HowieE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 07:31 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Lothlorian's Avatar
 
1973 27' Overlander
Loganville , Georgia
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,733
I left my 30 amp the way it is and had a seperate 50 amp box put in with a second hook up drop. I have it just in case I may need it someday for running more power like saws or equimpent which take additional amps. It is hidden in the closet out of site. I will say since I have been camping I have not needed it.

Lothlorian

Brian
__________________

__________________
Brian & Adrienne
Lothlorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 amp or 15 amp / 59 Traveler bkpine Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 14 09-14-2006 08:10 PM
30 amp box davidz71 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 10 10-23-2005 10:38 AM
30 amp power cord trouble davidz71 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 1 03-12-2003 06:29 PM
30 amp outlet john hd Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 20 02-26-2003 02:54 PM
Meter for amps davidz71 Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 5 05-09-2002 11:21 AM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.