Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2015, 07:26 AM   #1
Rivet Master
 
SilverEagle6's Avatar
 
2013 25' Flying Cloud
2008 30' Classic
On The Road To Wherever We End Up , Traveling the USA
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 540
30 AMP shore power receptacle(s)

I have to of these, one front and one back. They are original equipment on my 2013. Appears the front one is no longer functioning.

Looking for recommendations for replacements, will probably do both. Leaning towards towards Marinco.

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Jeanne and John, and always with us...Jake
2008 30' Classic Ltd Rear twin, 2014 Ford Super Duty
WBCCI 3100, unit 12, TAC USA-1, Escapees 129379

https://instagram.com/silvereagle3100/
SilverEagle6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 07:35 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Anywhere & , Everywhere
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,090
It is extremely unlikely there is anything wrong with the connector. If it isn't working the most likely cause is a bad transfer switch. Much info on here about this already - suggest you do a search.
__________________

Al - K4GLU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 08:03 AM   #3
Rivet Master
 
SilverEagle6's Avatar
 
2013 25' Flying Cloud
2008 30' Classic
On The Road To Wherever We End Up , Traveling the USA
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 540
already did, transfer switch has been checked for loose wires, etc. Rear receptacle works fine.
__________________
Jeanne and John, and always with us...Jake
2008 30' Classic Ltd Rear twin, 2014 Ford Super Duty
WBCCI 3100, unit 12, TAC USA-1, Escapees 129379

https://instagram.com/silvereagle3100/
SilverEagle6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 08:46 AM   #4
Rivet Master
 
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Anywhere & , Everywhere
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverEagle6 View Post
already did, transfer switch has been checked for loose wires, etc. Rear receptacle works fine.
Checked for loose wires? How did you check it to see that it actually works?

Another possibility is a recall by Furrion of some receptacles because the wires couldn't be tightened properly. There is info on here about that but I thought I remembered that it only affected some 2014/2015 models and that Airstream had sent letters to those affected by it. You might do a search for that. My bet is still the transfer switch but could be wrong.
Al - K4GLU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 08:52 AM   #5
Rivet Master
 
SilverEagle6's Avatar
 
2013 25' Flying Cloud
2008 30' Classic
On The Road To Wherever We End Up , Traveling the USA
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 540
Front receptacle- no power with generator hooked up, or normal shore power hooked up.

Rear receptacle- power with generator and normal shore power.

If one of the two receptacle works and one does not, my guess is that it is the plug.

Furrion recall was 2014 and newer.
__________________
Jeanne and John, and always with us...Jake
2008 30' Classic Ltd Rear twin, 2014 Ford Super Duty
WBCCI 3100, unit 12, TAC USA-1, Escapees 129379

https://instagram.com/silvereagle3100/
SilverEagle6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 09:27 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Anywhere & , Everywhere
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverEagle6 View Post
Front receptacle- no power with generator hooked up, or normal shore power hooked up.

Rear receptacle- power with generator and normal shore power.

If one of the two receptacle works and one does not, my guess is that it is the plug.

Furrion recall was 2014 and newer.
Well one way to find out for sure would be to move the front receptacle to the back and plug in. That would tell you for sure if the receptacle is bad or not.

My bet is still the transfer switch.
Al - K4GLU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 09:32 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
SilverEagle6's Avatar
 
2013 25' Flying Cloud
2008 30' Classic
On The Road To Wherever We End Up , Traveling the USA
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 540
ok, back to the original question ---Looking for recommendations for replacement plugs.

Thanks
__________________
Jeanne and John, and always with us...Jake
2008 30' Classic Ltd Rear twin, 2014 Ford Super Duty
WBCCI 3100, unit 12, TAC USA-1, Escapees 129379

https://instagram.com/silvereagle3100/
SilverEagle6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 09:56 AM   #8
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,306
The only way to verify if a transfer switch is working properly is to remove the cover, plug in the trailer and test under load.

THIS IS AN INVASIVE AND DANGEROUS PROCEDURE AND SHOULD NOT BE DONE UNLESS YOU ARE QUALIFIED TO WORK ON 120VAC LIVE CIRCUITS.

If you can't tell if power is transferring thru the switch to the main breaker from either exterior plug, then you're not going to accomplish anything by checking for loose wires.

You have a very high probability that the transfer switch is bad, but I wouldn't replace it unless you have it tested by a professional first. You might replace your outside receptacles and still have the original problem!

As for new inlets, look at Marinco stainless.
__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 10:04 AM   #9
Rivet Master
 
SilverEagle6's Avatar
 
2013 25' Flying Cloud
2008 30' Classic
On The Road To Wherever We End Up , Traveling the USA
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 540
there are two receptacles, one works one does not. If the transfer switch is bad, why does it not effect both receptacles?
__________________
Jeanne and John, and always with us...Jake
2008 30' Classic Ltd Rear twin, 2014 Ford Super Duty
WBCCI 3100, unit 12, TAC USA-1, Escapees 129379

https://instagram.com/silvereagle3100/
SilverEagle6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 10:09 AM   #10
Rivet Master
 
2011 25' FB Flying Cloud
Anywhere & , Everywhere
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvereagle6 View Post
there are two receptacles, one works one does not. If the transfer switch is bad, why does it not effect both receptacles?
the transfer switch switches between the two receptacles. Its purpose is to prevent some idiot from hooking up power to both inlets at the same time. You argue with people and you don't even have the slightest clue what a transfer switch does?
Al - K4GLU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 10:28 AM   #11
Rivet Master
 
SilverEagle6's Avatar
 
2013 25' Flying Cloud
2008 30' Classic
On The Road To Wherever We End Up , Traveling the USA
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 540
I know what a transfer switch does, just do not know why one receptacle works and one does not. I also know when I'm dealing with an ass.

I'll seek help elsewhere.
__________________
Jeanne and John, and always with us...Jake
2008 30' Classic Ltd Rear twin, 2014 Ford Super Duty
WBCCI 3100, unit 12, TAC USA-1, Escapees 129379

https://instagram.com/silvereagle3100/
SilverEagle6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 10:46 AM   #12
Rivet Master
 
Al and Missy's Avatar

 
2002 30' Classic S/O
Melbourne Beach , Florida
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,767
Pretty obvious how it could happen. Logic circuits control which receptacle is selected. Transfer switch is stuck on rear receptacle and won't switch to front. As Lewster said, high probability switch is bad.

Al
__________________

"You cannot reason someone out of a position they have not been reasoned into"

Al, K5TAN and Missy, N4RGO
2002 Classic 30 Slideout
S/OS #004
2013 Dodge 2500 Laramie 4x4 Megacab Cummins
2001 Safari 25 RB Twin (Gone, but not forgotten)
WBCCI 1322, TAC FL-39, AIR 82265

Al and Missy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 10:51 AM   #13
Rivet Master
 
J. Morgan's Avatar

 
1972 31' Sovereign
1975 31' Excella 500
Currently Looking...
Benton , Arkansas
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5,118
Images: 11
30 AMP shore power receptacle(s)

In this instance the transfer switch is utilized mainly to isolate one plug in from the other so that the male prongs on the unused input are not live and a shock hazard when the other one is plugged in. (I.e. Back feed).

Frankly, it would be interesting to know how the transfer switch would react if receiving an input from both plugs.... Especially from different legs.... (I AM NOT SAYING ANYONE SHOULD TRY THIS.... it could only be bad.... )

(I assume the switch would default to one or the other?)

If the transfer switch is not working right, the front circuit can remain open rendering it inoperative.


Brevi tempore!
__________________
The fact that I am opinionated does not presuppose that I am wrong......

J. Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2015, 12:09 PM   #14
Rivet Master
Commercial Member
 
lewster's Avatar
 
Vintage Kin Owner
Naples, FL , Hood River, OR
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 7,306
Most automatic transfer switches (ATS) operate on a priority basis. Larger units found in motorhomes with generators are usually set for 'generator priority'.

This means that if you are plugged in to shore power and start the generator, the ATS will automatically switch to the generator input, effectively shutting off the shore power even though it is still live.

Given that the ATS that Airstream uses is made by Parallax ( the good folks that bring you your single stage battery burner) I have no idea what the electrical priority arrangement is inside the ATS.

I have removed a number of them as a preventive measure and returned the trailers to a single 30 amp input receptacle. I have never seen any description of the priority arrangement within the switch.


Lew Farber
RVIA/RVDA Nationally Certified Master Tech
Master Tech Energy Systems, Inc.
AM Solar Certified Installation Center
Lifeline Batteries**Magnum Inverters
541-490-6357
__________________

__________________
Lew Farber...ABYC Certified Master Marine Electrician...RVIA Certified Master Tech ...AM Solar Authorized Installation Center...AIRSTREAM Solar & Electrical Specialist...Micro Air 'Easy Start' Sales and Installations
lewster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring 30 amp receptacle BlueBelle Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 9 11-03-2015 11:49 AM
Rear AC receptacle only works on shore power paullovern Sprinter and B-van Forum 17 09-02-2014 11:31 AM
My first warranty issue after three weeks--faulty shore power receptacle. Zymurbrian Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 10 11-13-2012 09:09 PM
Plug Shore Power into Locker Receptacle for Generator BarnacleBill Land Yacht/Legacy Motorhomes 0 07-06-2012 08:39 PM
Converting from 30 amp to 50 amp shore power blkmagikca General Motorhome Topics 8 03-28-2006 01:20 PM


Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.