Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-07-2013, 07:36 PM   #1
New Member
Kerrville , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
30 amp plug 1964 Trade Wind

I just bought a 1964 Trade Wind and the 30 amp plug is different than a modern 30 amp plug. I have read that it is called a Theo Bargman 30 Amp plug, but how can I get an adapter or use this configuration? The original owner says it has not been plugged in in years, this is probably why....
thanks in advance for the help.

RussN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:44 PM   #2
Rivet Master
richinny's Avatar
2011 34' Classic
Westchester Cty.NY , / Miami FL
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,122
this thread might shed some light:

welcome to the forum :-)

2012 F150 Super Crew 5-1/2' bed Ecoboost 4x4 3.73 elec. lock diff. Propride hitch
give life. kidney & pancreas transplant 9/9/06
Ingrid-my unofficial '"World's Oldest Streamer" 1909-2008 R.I.P.
richinny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:46 PM   #3
Rivet Master
1974 Argosy 20
2014 20' Flying Cloud
Kooskia , Idaho
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,592
Easiest thing to do would be to cut the original plug off and put a new one on. They are available at most RV dealers and even Home Depot has them usually.

If you don't feel capable of changing it out yourself, take it to an RV repair place and have them do it, should not be much more expensive than some adaptor you would get.
idroba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:58 PM   #4
New Member
Kerrville , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
great, thanks guys, Im sure yall will be hearing from me more!
RussN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 08:10 PM   #5
Rivet Master
65CV's Avatar
1959 26' Overlander
Western , Massachusetts
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,359
Images: 6
I like the Marinco Inlet. I've found good deals on it on eBay.

The connection is designed to be used on boats, so it's quite safe. I'm not at all worried about keeping it connected during the 2-3 inches of rain we're getting here in Texas tomorrow.
65CV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 09:35 PM   #6
New Member
Kerrville , Texas
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Got the electric working this weekend. All the plugs work and only the lights in the bathroom and over the sink in the kitchen don't work yet. I replaced the old rotten 30 amp wire and plug with new ones to get the electricity going. All other wiring looked pretty decent without rot. thanks for the help

RussN is offline   Reply With Quote


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.