Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2014, 11:03 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
 
Rawn77's Avatar
 
2017 30' Classic
Montreal , Quebec
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 211
Send a message via Skype™ to Rawn77
30 AMP and 2 AC Units?

I've ordered a new 31' Classic which will come with 2 AC's (15k and 13.5k) and 50 AMP service.

Have any of you guys used a 50 to 30 AMP pigtail and were still able to run both AC units (assuming no other significant electrical being used {hot water and fridge running on propane})

For those quick one night stops, it would be nice to not have to wrestle with the 50 AMP cordset; the 30 AMP cordset is way easier to deal with.

Just wondering

Ron
__________________

__________________
Ron
Montreal, QC

2017 Classic
4 Flexible 100w Solar Panels
3000w Magnum Hybrid Inverter
1000 Amp Hours Lithium Battery
Honda EU3000
Drain Master Sewer Connection
2017 GMC Denali 2500 Duramax
Hensley
Rawn77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:09 AM   #2
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
Know just what you're talking about. That cord is very heavy and stiff in the cool mornings. I have run both AC's on 30 amps, but have not done it for any length of time, and I don't think it will do it for long.

Where you live, you will probably only need the two AC's very infrequently.

I say get used to handling the 50 amp cord, it will build character and muscles.
__________________

__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:13 AM   #3
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,204
Images: 25
When you think it through, I think you will realize that if it was OK to run two AC units on 30A service, why would Airstream provide a 50A input?

I believe that you run the risk of damaging one or both AC units by doing that. Oddly enough, too little current can harm them.

Perhaps other users with more expertise can calculate if you could use just one AC unit on a 30A input, but I ask you: why run the risk? Is it really that much harder to deploy the 50A cord?
__________________
“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
...John Wayne...........................
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:20 AM   #4
3 Rivet Member
 
Rawn77's Avatar
 
2017 30' Classic
Montreal , Quebec
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 211
Send a message via Skype™ to Rawn77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aage View Post
When you think it through, I think you will realize that if it was OK to run two AC units on 30A service, why would Airstream provide a 50A input?

I believe that you run the risk of damaging one or both AC units by doing that. Oddly enough, too little current can harm them.

Perhaps other users with more expertise can calculate if you could use just one AC unit on a 30A input, but I ask you: why run the risk? Is it really that much harder to deploy the 50A cord?
I think the real question for me was that when I was boondocking at a Walmart, could I use my Honda 3000 inverter generator to run the dual ACs and nothing else?

While up in the North-East I'll rarely need to use 2 ACs but I frequently travel to the southern states in the summer
__________________
Ron
Montreal, QC

2017 Classic
4 Flexible 100w Solar Panels
3000w Magnum Hybrid Inverter
1000 Amp Hours Lithium Battery
Honda EU3000
Drain Master Sewer Connection
2017 GMC Denali 2500 Duramax
Hensley
Rawn77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:29 AM   #5
Site Team
 
Aage's Avatar
 
1974 31' Sovereign
Ottawa , ON
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11,204
Images: 25
If you even can do that, it won't last for long before the voltage drops below a useful level. And the same comments for low voltage I made before still stand.

AC is really not usable when boondocking (assuming no AC connection). Heck, you are just now spending a lot of money for your new trailer. Why not spend a few dollars more (for a proper campsite) and give yourself a chance to use all that AC you bought?
__________________
“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”
...John Wayne...........................
Aage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:32 AM   #6
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aage View Post
When you think it through, I think you will realize that if it was OK to run two AC units on 30A service, why would Airstream provide a 50A input?

I believe that you run the risk of damaging one or both AC units by doing that. Oddly enough, too little current can harm them.

Perhaps other users with more expertise can calculate if you could use just one AC unit on a 30A input, but I ask you: why run the risk? Is it really that much harder to deploy the 50A cord?
We frequently run one AC on a 30 amp circuit with no problems. Have been doing for a long time.

And, it's not too little current that harms them, but too low a voltage which is caused by drawing too much current on a circuit, that will harm the units.
__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:33 AM   #7
Rivet Master
 
Minno's Avatar

 
1972 31' Sovereign
Lexington , Minnesota
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3,323
I think you'll find that the 30 AMP Male to 50 AMP Female adapters only supply power to one leg of the 50 AMP female outlet. Only 1 a/c will work.

http://www.adventurerv.net/amp-femal...ter-p-122.html
__________________
Minno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:36 AM   #8
Rivet Master
 
SteveH's Avatar
 
2005 39' Land Yacht 390 XL 396
Common Sense , Texas
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 5,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minno View Post
I think you'll find that the 30 AMP Male to 50 AMP Female adapters only supply power to one leg of the 50 AMP female outlet. Only 1 a/c will work.

http://www.adventurerv.net/amp-femal...ter-p-122.html
You are probably right about the adapter (I haven't actually tried it), but we have a 30 AMP to 50 AMP cord that powers both legs of the circuit.
__________________
Regards,
Steve
SteveH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 12:12 PM   #9
Rivet Master
 
bwoodtx's Avatar
 
1997 30' Excella
1961 26' Overlander
1954 22' Flying Cloud
1981 28' Airstream 280
San Antonio , Texas
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,365
That is correct. The adapters only supply power to one leg of the 50amp.
__________________
Bruce
WBCCI# 9259 AIR# 38927 TAC-TX 14
Stop Littering-Spay & Neuter-- Adopt From Rescue
He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.
bwoodtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 12:54 PM   #10
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
Interesting, you just spent around one hundred thousand dollars for an RV and want to skimp on a campground? If you are staying at a Walmart, etc, then just run the oneAC with your genny, assuming it is at least a 3000. Jim
__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 12:56 PM   #11
3 Rivet Member
 
Rawn77's Avatar
 
2017 30' Classic
Montreal , Quebec
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 211
Send a message via Skype™ to Rawn77
I have been running the 15k AC on my existing Airstream with my Honda 3000 with absolutely no problems.

And believe me when I say; I boondock for the absolute convenience and not to save money. If there were campgrounds every other exit (i.e. Walmart) and it didn't take me 30 minutes to register I would use them. And, I only boondock when en route to the destination.

This Marinco adapter will split 30 Amps to both legs of the onboard 50 Amp circuit panel.

But, it was just a thought......
__________________
Ron
Montreal, QC

2017 Classic
4 Flexible 100w Solar Panels
3000w Magnum Hybrid Inverter
1000 Amp Hours Lithium Battery
Honda EU3000
Drain Master Sewer Connection
2017 GMC Denali 2500 Duramax
Hensley
Rawn77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 01:02 PM   #12
3 Rivet Member
 
Rawn77's Avatar
 
2017 30' Classic
Montreal , Quebec
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 211
Send a message via Skype™ to Rawn77
Quote:
Originally Posted by zigzagguzzi View Post
Interesting, you just spent around one hundred thousand dollars for an RV and want to skimp on a campground? If you are staying at a Walmart, etc, then just run the oneAC with your genny, assuming it is at least a 3000. Jim
Is that what this Forum has come to. My question is not legitimate because of the cost of my RV??
I guess everyone here bought an Airstream because they're poor and looking to do things the cheapest way.
__________________
Ron
Montreal, QC

2017 Classic
4 Flexible 100w Solar Panels
3000w Magnum Hybrid Inverter
1000 Amp Hours Lithium Battery
Honda EU3000
Drain Master Sewer Connection
2017 GMC Denali 2500 Duramax
Hensley
Rawn77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 01:10 PM   #13
Rivet Master
 
Currently Looking...
Nowhere , Somewhere
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,417
Blog Entries: 2
I see nothing wrong with my post and stand by it. Use the genny and you can stop about sntwhere you want. I also see my first statement as relevant and should not have to defend myself. Jim
__________________
avionstream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 01:38 PM   #14
Rivet Master
 
Gene's Avatar
 
2008 25' Safari FB SE
Grand Junction , Colorado
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,840
If both A/C's surge at the same time, you will likely flip a breaker. That means when you turn them on or they turn themselves on to bring the temp down. I believe each takes about 18 amps to start the compressor (the fan, which can run all the time depending how you set the thermostat, takes little power). So you will draw 36 amps on a 30 amp main breaker, overheat the wires and flip the breaker. If you can get them to never surge together (very hard to do, it will eventually catch up on you), you could get by, but don't use anything else.

If you have other electric appliances, the combination of one A/C and a microwave, toaster, electric heater or something else, may do the same. I haven't had that happen, but smaller appliances used in RV's get by with the A/C more or less.

There's more to it than that, but they won't change the basics.

Gene
__________________

__________________
Gene is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are all A/C units Rooftop units? NJtoNC Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 5 01-19-2013 09:23 PM
Pleasant Surprise with Dual A/C Units on 30 Amp Service panabax Furnaces, Heaters, Fireplaces & Air Conditioning 13 12-07-2010 05:53 AM
Two AC Units on 30 Amp??? Steve Heywood Electrical - Systems, Generators, Batteries & Solar 6 07-05-2009 02:03 PM
Vintage Units VS New Units Cstar On The Road... 4 05-07-2004 10:22 PM


Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Airstream is a registered trademark of Airstream Inc. All rights reserved. Airstream trademark used under license to Social Knowledge LLC.