Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-03-2008, 11:06 AM   #1

San Diego , California
"We Gotta Get Out of Here"

Hi everyone. I am brand new to this adventure of Roadtrip Trailering.
My best friend: she's also my wife, are dying to see this country of ours. The ultimate goal is to find a new place to live. Slower paced, less trafic, fewer people.

After visiting a RV and trailer show, we fell in love with the Airstream. It's so sleek and neat. And there seems to be a feeling of RETRO in them as well.

My first question is: What is the ideal towing vechile for a 20-25 foot trailer?

Thank You
charlie636 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 11:33 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2012 25' FB Eddie Bauer
Vintage Kin Owner
Virginia Beach , Virginia
Tons of advice

When it comes to tow vehicles, it seems that everyone has his/her personal preferences.

First off, two people on a long trip.... a 25 footer is the minimum I'd go for. And the 25 ft model is generally where people will recommend looking at a 3/4 ton vehicle as opposed to a 1/2 ton. Use the "Search" function and look at "Tow Vehicles" just for an overwhelming view of how much info is on this site right now.

You also need to know that a truck is "tow ready" - towing mirrors, prewired for a brake controller or even with an integrated brake controller, extra cooling on the transmission fluid and oil, hefty brakes, a rear differential gearing that's made for towing, and a transmission with "tow mode" to keep the transmission from shifting at every slight increase or decrease in speed.

Likely half ton candidates

Ford F-150
Chevy Silverado 1500
Chevy Suburban 1500
Dodge Ram 1500
Toyota Tundra - new or nearly new