Old 02-28-2018, 09:33 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2018 25' Flying Cloud
Woodstock , Georgia
We got derailed by an Airstream! :)

Hi everyone!

Well, my wife and I thought we had it all figured out for this year's camping. My mom and dad brought my brother and I up camping and my wife and I have been camping together for 25 years. We were ending up 2017 with our 2005 Forest River Sierra 35' which we purchased new. Has been a fantastic camper. Our 3 kids are older now, one in college, and so we figured we would downsize campers. We fell in love (or so we thought) with a 22' retro style camper with a slide out and we started making plans to sell ours and buy it.
In January, we decided to go to the local camper show here in Atlanta, you know, just to make sure it was the right one . First area we went to was where the Airstreams were. Never even considered one, mainly because they did not have slide outs (ours had 2) and heard they were expensive. We've never known anyone with one either. For kicks, we decided to walk into an FC FBQ27 and that is where the train left the tracks! Totally did not expect what we experienced. It was amazing, we both walked out of it quietly and started looking at other campers again, you know, the box ones. We got back to the area that had the retro one that we had originally planned to buy and tried making up with it, but, the damage was done. I asked my wife what else she wanted to look at while at the show and she looked at me at me and said, "hey, how about we go back and look at those Airstreams?" She didn't have to ask me twice! We left the show and started scheming at how we could pull this off, especially since the 25Fb we had talked with the National AS rep at the show about was $57k more than the one we were planning on buying!