Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-17-2019, 03:07 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
Briston , Norfolk
Vintage airstreams

Hi All,

Im a newbie looking for an airstream, and a better understanding of importing such a vehicle

Does anyone on this forum have any experience or knowledge of exporting airstreams?

I am a vintage 60's lantern roof British caravan owner, interested in acquiring a similar vintage period airstream.

But before I get too excited, I need to understand a little more about the costs involved. I know the real answer is " how long is a piece of string " but can I suggest the piece of string is middle sized fits in a 40' container and is dedicated freight.

I restore 19th Cent through to 1950's railway carriages for a living, so anything considered so long as it has a rolling chassis, ideally a solid chassis.

I have experience of importing and exporting, but do not personally hold a license. Not sure what your President has been up to of late, with regard to exporting/importing and the cost implications now or in the future.

Thanks in advance for any information.

Regards Martin
Martian Ind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 07:15 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1986 34' Limited
1975 27' Overlander
1969 21' Globetrotter
Conifer , Colorado
Hello from Colorado: Welcome to these Airstream Forums. Always fun to meet folks from Europe. There are several who participate here.

I enjoy the vintage Airstream hobby. I had a 1966 Trade Wind 24' that I did extensive work to. I spent nearly $20k on the thing over three years. I'm now renovating a 75 Overlander 27'. I'll have $30k in that one. Photos below.