Old 01-28-2014, 09:35 PM   #1

Green Bay , Wisconsin
Towing Concerns

I am not very technical. I've met Andy at Can-Am, and from meeting him and everything I've read, he seems very trustworthy.

I bought a 2012 AS Int'l Signature 27 ft last August. It has a Pro-Pride WD hitch and weighs 7,600 pounds before the Solar Panels, Temper-Pedic mattress, or any personal items are loaded. I'm towing it with my 2011 Honda Ridgeline that has a towing capacity of 5,000 pounds. I've had the hitch reinforced and installed a brake controller.

Everything has been fine, but I'm worried that when something unexpected happens, my Ridgeline isn't going to be "big enough" to control my baby behind it. I feel like I may be "dangerous" to those around me.

It's time for a new timing belt and new tires on the Ridgeline. I'm wondering if I should sell it and get a quarter ton pickup. Am I an idiot? The pics I've taken make me feel like my little truck is inadequate. Fire away!!

Old 01-28-2014, 09:40 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
Cary , North Carolina
CanAm has a good reputation. Sound upgrades can safely increase a vehicle's towing capacity.

If you are towing with it now and it has a good WD and anti-sway, what exactly are you concerned could happen?

Don't worry. Enjoy. Have fun with the Airstream and after 10,000 miles you will know without a doubt if you want more vehicle, or not.

Broadway, NC
Wayward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 09:46 PM   #3
Rivet Master

1984 34' International
Toronto , Ontario
At the end of the day, you will have to decide what you're comfortable with - nobody can make that decision for you. If keeping your Ridgeline means that you won't enjoy your trailer because towing makes you nervous then maybe you should change it for a vehicle that makes you feel better.

In my opinion you needn't worry, but it's just that - an opinion, so feel free to ignore.