Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-27-2015, 04:54 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
Charleston , South Carolina
Total Newbie

Hi Folks, we are so new, we're still in the fetal stages. I started out looking at campers on Craigslist and decided there was a lot to learn. Within days, my search had led me to googling "what's so special about Airstream?" It didn't take long then to find this forum. I've been lurking for several days on the forums and have gleaned some good info. There's no question now that we want an airstream. That's a beginning, right?

My dh and I are moving cross country. We are storing our belongings and want to travel across in a trailer that we can then live in while we find property and build. We would like to find something we can pull comfortably with a 2004 Toyota Sequoia. I love projects, but dh does not. We will consider both new and used, but being our first trailer of any sort, I'm wondering what we should be looking for/avoiding. Any suggestions are appreciated. I'm really looking forward to being here.
BKuhlman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2015, 05:37 AM   #2
4 Rivet Member

houston , Texas
I think what you are going to find is that the Airstream is a higher quality with less stuff that goes wrong.

Not to say there aren't some good trailers in the world, cause there are .. Jayco, Lance to name a couple. But nothing with quite the style, that's for sure.

I'm here because I became tired of stupid things breaking, like electric steps that stop opening, slides that get stuck out leaving you stranded, and so forth....

Airstreams hold their value much better, but cost more to start with.

It sort of boils down to how long do you plan to keep it? Are aesthetics / zen very important to you? Do you appreciate smart, yet simple design in systems and furniture?