Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-18-2008, 03:33 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1976 31' Sovereign
Eugene , Oregon
Unhappy Talk me off the ledge, please

Hi, I'm a newbie. A couple of months ago I purchased a '76 Sovereign. I bought it to restore, but it's in much worse shape than I at first realized. Now every time I look at it I see that something else is missing or broken. I was getting cold feet about the whole thing, but I started reading the repair forums and I do feel a bit better. So, two questions: Is it a lost cause to try to restore a '76 back to original equipment? And what IS that smell? It was very damp, but after I got it dried out the odor changed from a moldy smell to something like rotten plastic. My husband thinks it's toilet chemicals, but I don't think so. I appreciate any help you offer.
licketysplit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 03:49 PM   #2

Vintage Kin Owner
... , ...
Not Sure

LS..Welcome to the forum. Mine had a musty smell that went away as soon as we pulled up the shag (Man I miss the 70's) carpet. Now I have what I would classify as an acrid smell, that I describe as a cross between old varnish and sun-baked plastic, and maybe dash of burnt electric wire insulation.