Old 02-28-2015, 02:35 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2018 25' International
Sanford , Florida
Such a novice here...

Kids are grown and soon my wife and I will hit the road in a new (or used) AS. With the help of all you lovely AS owning folks on this Forum, we will make the correct purchasing decisions! Thanks in advance for any and all input. I JUST bought a 2015 Nissan Frontier Pro 4x so thats my tow vehicle (love the truck, don't want to hear about trading up to a Ford half ton or one ton or diesel). I am a TOTAL novice with trailers other than my lightweight boat so first off, the new hitch label says 7,500 lbs max tow weight and 750lbs max tongue weight. Does this restrict my purchase to a particular size AS? Can anyone tell me why the single axle AS trailers are SO MUCH lighter than the next one up? i.e.: sport vs flying cloud. Big price difference too. Already got some GREAT advice by reading other newbie threads and we WILL visit the dealer and spend some time inside the various models to purchase the best size. Retirement is 2 years away but we plan to purchase sooner and do some weekend trips and have it on our property as extra space/guest room so the intelligent buying process starts now. Thanks.

Old 02-28-2015, 03:49 PM   #2
cwf
Rivet Master

1999 34' Excella
Currently Looking...
Hillsboro , Texas
Welcome aboard! So, the journey begins...

Tell us about your camping trailer experiences? SOB? (some other brand)... or tent only? or... never camped?

Thanks for sharing with us! Hope we can help!

cwf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2015, 03:53 PM   #3

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Greeting from the Florida Panhandle

Welcome to the Forums. We're glad to have you with us.

Your tow vehicle selection will limit your Airstream possibilities to a certain extent. A small tow vehicle like that may limit you to the smaller single axle Airstreams.

Brian
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7