Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 05-19-2017, 06:12 AM   #1
Half a Rivet Short

2017 30' Classic
2022 Interstate 24X
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
So Here We Are

Hi

The wife and I have been camping and "discussing" an Airstream ever since we got married 40+ years ago. We have camped a lot of ways in a lot of places. I camped out as a kid as did my parents and grandparents. The whole discussion of "AS or not" has been going on for generations. We seem to go through the loop about every 4 years.

At this point I'm retired and the wife has four more weeks to go. It's just us, one Lab and two Neuf's. It's time to commit to a plan. Tents, popups, and small trailers are not going to work for us anymore.

This time around we only spent about a month talking and researching. Then, tike others in the neighborhood we made the "bad" decision to go over to Colonial. We spent a full day of popping in and out of everything on the lot. All that after already narrowing things down to the 25 to (maybe) 30 foot range.

We and tried to work in all of them from 19' on up. We sat in the seating. We looked at the storage. We tried to do things in the kitchens. We arbitrarily positioned dogs (they stayed home). At the end of the day the decision was to get a 30' Classic. The Classic had not been on the list at the start of the day. Nobody talked us into it, it just was what seemed to work. No it's not going to fit in those cute little sites in we did with the tents back in 1980's. There are trade offs.

It will be fun to see how three large dogs and two "large" people all function in the trailer.

Bob
uncle_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2017, 08:16 AM   #2
Rivet Master

2019 27' Globetrotter