Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-24-2007, 04:50 PM   #1

Incline Village , Nevada
Quality Issues

Hi Community Members... I just registered and this is my first posting... and I am interested in any comments on the quality of the newer Airstreams...i.e. since Airstream was acquired by Thor Industries several yearsa ago has there been any noticable decrease in the overall quality?

I have been RVing for 15+ years...started with a 29' Holiday Rambler Alumalite...progressed (?) to fifth wheels...then 2 diesel motor homes and quickly grew tired on the maintenance,expenses, and not being able to stay in State and National Parks...

I am seriously considering a 27' FB...and apprecaite your comments on quality and related maintenance\ warranty issues...

sierra8346
bfalkenborg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 05:02 PM   #2
Site Team

2002 25' Safari
Dewey , Arizona
Thor purchased Airstream from Beatrice Foods in August of 1980.

Richard

Wally Byam Airstream Club 7513
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 05:15 PM   #3
_

. , .
Define Quality?

hi b' and welcome to the forums...

it might be helpful if you offered your views on this issue (whatever q is) and your expectations.

using the phrase 'newer airstreams' suggests suggests some impression of 'older airstreams'...

as IF there is a difference.

next you might wanna just use the advanced search tool with the q word and limit the looking to the sub forums for 'newer' units.

there are LOTS of pixels here on this stuff.

they all have maintenance issues, while different than diesel mohos.

cheers
2air'

we are here on earth to fart around. don't let anybody tell you any different. k.v.
2airishuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2007, 07:07 PM   #4

Incline Village , Nevada
Quality Issues