Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-11-2018, 06:04 AM   #1
Wolfwhistle

Margaritaville , Banana Republic
Picking up new to me Airstream on Friday

First thanks for the add and I hope to be an asset on the forum as I share and as I continue to learn.

My background is telecommunications - craft, management, engineering - for a total of 46 years. I also served a short active hitch in the Army 65-67 followed by 21 more years spread between Army, FLNG, FLANG (17 years REDHORSE), and finally USAFR, retiring in 2006.

Married twice; father of 3, grandfather to 8 and g-grandfather to 1 with 1 on the way.

I am also seeking advice about my next major purchase...
I am getting a 2013 23FB International Signature on this Friday if it passes inspection. I know diddly about Airstream and could use some tips for what to look for... what is okay and what is not. I want to be sure this unit hasn't had major repairs of defects, as well.

It appears to be in great condition and the various systems and features will be demonstrated before I lay my money down. BTW, the dealer is Foley in Gulfport MS.

Also new to me is the WDH; a Blue Ox 10K# hitch.

TIA,
WW
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0511131501.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	343.4 KB
ID:	316564  
Fair_Enough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 06:59 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member

2000 25' Safari
Denver , North Carolina
Welcome! Here are a couple of notes I keep. Never worry about reaching out here for advice, after you search in the blue box for it These are from this or other Airstream sites:

NO SILICONE:

For wheel wells/underbody:

Vulkem 116
Trempro 635 Grey
Sikaflex 221 Black (use Eternabond spray cleaner to prepare surface)
Adseal Premium Quality Sealant Grey

Roof:

Sikaflex 221 White (for roof seams, seals and bonds. Use Eternabond spray cleaner to prepare surface)