Old 05-26-2006, 09:35 AM   #1
3 Rivet Member
2005 22' Safari
Santa Ana , California
"Out with the Starcraft, in with the Airstream"

I've been camping since I was at least 7 years old. My dad always had a Starcraft tent trailer and growing up I thought they were quite amazing.
As I started to have my own family and was tent camping (which is really uncomfortable) I realized it was time to get a trailer.
My first thought was an Airstream. I had seen them before and as an engineer, I could recognize there amazing quality. I also recognized there amazing sticker price and hence decided, "Well, I guess I'll get a tent trailer." (bad decision to go against one owns integrity) Nothing against the tent trailer. As far as I could tell the Starcraft still make a fine trailer.
Anyway, to cut my story short I sold the tent trailer to a friend 2 days ago and put my deposit on my 2005 22ft Safari.
I felt I got a pretty decent deal being there last '05 and all. I love the size for my family (for now) and the trailer is beautiful.

Killo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2006, 10:01 AM   #2
1986 34.5' Airstream 345
Louisville , Kentucky
Welcome to the forum and Airstreaming. Even though they are expensive, just imagine passing this trailer on to your children when they carry on the camping tradition.

I also grew up tent camping and remember those weekends and two weeks each summer as some of the best times of my childhood.

We got our Airstream when our kids were still very young (all under seven at the time) and now they don't even understand tent camping. My six year old asked me once when we hiked past the tent section in a State Park, "Daddy, why don't those people have an Airstream?" I didn't know how to answer her so as I frantically searched the recesses of my brain for the perfect parental response she said "We're lucky, we have an Airstream".

Steven Webster
1986 Airstream 345 Classic Motorhome
AIR 1760
swebster is offline   Reply With Quote