Old 05-08-2011, 09:59 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
1955 22' Flying Cloud
Grand Rapids , Michigan
Not Sure What I Got Myself Into

Hello. Thought I better say hello. My wife and I have recently discovered Airstreams, and are particularly fond of the "more mature" styles. We have seen spoken at length with a local Airstream dealer, seen some restored trailers, and looked closely at what is currently available close. So at what we consider to be a modest and reasonable investment we took the plunge today even though I am a novice at all of this. I hope we didn't bite off more than we can handle. I am hoping I can get some help from this group if you all are willing.

Purchased 1955 Flying Cloud (O 3261) today. Outside it was pretty rough, but it is what is beneath the surface that has me worried. Exposed portions of frame at bumper and hitch are completely rotted through by rust which suggests the frame is very likely the same. Outriggers are beginning to penetrate through sides of pan which suggests rot and/or electrolysis corrosion. A shake of the bumper revealed that skin is detached, and powdered woods falls from joint. Exterior has minor issues, but I could see several skins being replaced. I am sure that is the tip of the iceberg. We are working from the assumption that everything else is either in need of replacement or repair but for a majority of the shell.

This week we will have it thoroughly inspected by the local Airstream dealer and see just how bad it is. If anyone else was interested in this particular trailer, we can let you know what you missed (lucky or unlucky).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_2468.jpg
Views:	75
Size:	345.6 KB
ID:	129415   Click image for larger version

Name:	100_2457.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	239.1 KB
ID:	129416  

Click image for larger version

Name:	100_2461.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	187.3 KB
ID:	129417   Click image for larger version

Name:	100_2478.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	403.7 KB
ID:	129418