Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-23-2014, 09:02 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1962 22' Safari
Atlanta , Georgia
Newbies starting on interior panels

Hello fabulous airstream folks

We are new to this airstream world & loving every minute!

We purchased a 1962 22' Airstream Safari in January & started taking it apart immediately! (Husband has engineer in his blood & I'm an artist)

Shewie! Took out the laminate floor, & subfloor only to notice the last owners had not removed the original subfloor (with extensive water damage) but just laid the new floor on top! Goodness gracious. We then started investigating some patches in the interior walls to discover they had been fixed with masking tape & then painted over! So, as many vintage trailer owners find, we've got a fun project on our hands!

We have started (trying to) strip the numerous layers of paint off the walls. We will have to remove the interior panels to check insulation & wiring. Any advice on treatment of the panels before during & after this process? Any & all advice for newbies is greatly appreciated

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1393170686.642895.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	264.5 KB
ID:	206212   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAirstream Forums1393171282.381989.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	720.8 KB
ID:	206214  

2 Georgia Peaches just figuring it out as we go!
BellAirSafar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2014, 02:53 PM   #2
flygrrl

1962 19' Globetrotter
Winchester , Ontario
Welcome, welcome.
You will probably find that the upper end caps on your baby are fiberglass, not aluminium. Lots of folks have started stripping only to find this out mid process. Some have replaced the ends with aluminium or copper, or veneers, and some have just left them painted.