Old 12-05-2007, 08:48 PM   #1
2008 16' Safari
Los Angeles , California
Smile Newbie- Safari Sport 17'

Hello Everyone,

We're total novices but we're absolutely excited about learning everything we can to live the enjoy our new Airstream! I'm semi-retired (25 years of 'Corporate') and my wife is within a year of retiring. We also have a super-active Boston Terrier that we plan on taking with us, but that seems to be the least of our problems.

Does anyone have any 'newbie' suggestions on the things that are really necessary to know? I've read some things about 'no covers' for the Airstream but then I need to knowkl how to clean it. I've read about a bunch of products, Walbernize Super Seal and such, but what is the best thing to wash and clean it with?

Also, we went to Camping World and thought we'd have everything 'revealed' to us but I still have questions. We bought new black water hoses, the thickest kind we could find, but I still have questions about what type of fittings are most common, not to our Airstream but to the different connections at the dumping station. I bought some '6 way valve' converter and a rubber contraption but I really ldon't know what I expect to encounter when we go to the first capmsite? I'd really hate to get there and not have what I needed?

Anyway, maybe some of you may remember what it was like to 'not know what you don't know' when you first started so any information or advice wouold be much appreciated!

PS - We really love our Airstream! We had to look at other things because of the weight limitations but we were totally surprised when we saw the new models that came in 1000 lbs. under the previous models. Maybe some day after some experience, we'll 'graduate' to a legitimate Airstream, but for now we're still trying to learn the basics. Thanks to all you 'pro's' and I look forward to any help you can lend!

GWB 320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2007, 09:24 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2006 19' Safari SE
Tucson , Arizona