Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-09-2012, 09:36 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Pell City , Alabama
Newbie questions about the chicken and the egg

I'm just beginning the process of moving my life from a home to something more adventurous. Some things have happened in the economic downturn that are providing me with an opportunity to become more mobile. So, I have the dilemma that it seems many streamers have had. I currently own a 2007 F150 8' bed, reg cab, 6-cylinder, automatic, 2WD vehicle (fully paid for). It just hit 60,000 miles. I love this truck. I'm very comfortable driving it. It just fits me. I put about 7500 miles a year on it now (after scrambling to find a new job three years ago). I took about a 33% pay cut this round and am still reeling from the hit, but at least the new job is near by.

The problem is that everything I read says buy the trailer you need and then replace the tow vehicle to pull it. Makes sense.....it's just that I don't know that I can afford the new tow vehicle any time soon and I don't want my new home to become a stationary home....not able to get out and roam.

My best guess from reading all I can find on tow weights is that I can probably handle something weighing about 4000 lbs with another 1500 lbs of cargo and wiggle room. So that seems to put me in the 17-20 foot range, but I think longer term I need something in the 24-25 foot range for full timing. My truck wasn't designed for towing heavy equipment, but I don't want to under appreciate what it can do. I mean, it is a truck, after all. This paragraph is in serious need of affirmation or correction as I don't feel fully clear on all the tow specifications.