Old 10-10-2016, 01:46 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1980 20' Caravelle
Chicago , Illinois
Newbie Here - Our First Trip!

Hello! My wife and I just purchased our - new to us - first Airstream, a 1980 20' Caravelle. We've been looking for a while and when she (we're still trying to figure out a name) popped up on Craigslist, we knew that we had to see her in the flesh. Becoming smitten, we took her home the next week.

Given that she's 36 years young, we knew that she would need some work. In the 4 weeks that we've had her, we've installed new drum brakes ($$$), repacked the bearings, and replaced all the foam/fabric inside. We also shored up some loose screws attaching the fold out couch to the wall. Even just after a deep scrub, it's amazing how well she's cleaning up!

We took her for her first trip this weekend. We decided to go just for a night about an hour and a half away from home and see what we'd need to work on over winter. Somehow, on the way over, it rattled enough to shear the plastic coupling from the PEX into the hot water heater (which we only discovered after filling the tank and turning on the water pump, finding a giant puddle), and shook our couch apart from the wall. We were simply driving on the interstate so I'm surprised that it shook that much. Of course the coupling is plastic and sheared flush with the tank so there's no way to get it out. I guess replacing the water heater is in order...

It was great, however, to have her out in her element. Other than the water and keeping off the couch, everything else system-wise seemed to work.

The trip home, however, was a little rough. We stopped about halfway (45 minutes) home - all highway driving - and found that not only did the couch detach from the wall again, but our upper kitchen cabinets were falling down. The roads didn't seem that rough, I avoided all potholes, and I didn't go over 60 MPH.