Old 01-28-2008, 01:00 PM   #1
1963 19' Globetrotter
Scotts Valley , California
Newbe 1963 Globetrotter basket case

I just bought a 1963 Globetrotter and it's a basket case, I love it! It looks so-so on the out side with a few dents and the inside hase lots of water damage and some one tried to start repairs and really made a mess. Good news its all there. My wife thinks I'm nuts.
I will have pictures very soon and plane on documenting the process. Hope to meet locals (Santa Cruz, Ca. area) who know Airstreams and can help me with bacic computer skills.
I'm a woodworker and plane on makeing the inside like a lear jet with supper high end burial wood & upholstery & appliances etc. You can see some of my work at Am I crazy to do this to such a little sweethart of a trailer; is this a no-no for Airstream owners ?
I'm into gold prospecting and treasure hunting and want it for my little getaway home.
Any way HI, my name is Joe hope to have fun with this project. Happy Trails

Wild Horse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 01:06 PM   #2
Site Team
1975 25' Tradewind
Dewey , Arizona
Joe, welcome to the forums.
sounds like a fun project. Keep us updated with pictures.

WBCCI President 2016-2017
azflycaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 01:19 PM   #3
Rivet Master
1984 31' Airstream310
Richmond , Kentucky
Wow, Joe, your work is GORGEOUS!!! I LOVE the trains - how cool!

In answer to your question - the main thing is to make your Airstream one YOU are comfortable and happy with. I think your interior idea is fantastic, and would LOVE to see pictures as you progress. Don't let people tell you that you have to keep it original or period - make it the way you want it.

Congrats, and good luck with the project!

"Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains?"

1984 310 Limited Motor Home "The Rockin' A"
1974 31' Excella (soon-to-be carhauler)
1974 20' Argosy Motor Home
Alumatube is offline   Reply With Quote