Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-30-2017, 11:07 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

2020 26' Flying Cloud
Belgrade , Montana
New to the Forum

Hello Airstream Forum Members! "Spidey" here (a.k.a. "Bill"). I'm new to the Forum and wanted to give you a little introduction, so cue up the music, maestro!

I'm Airstream dreamin'! Ever since I was a little kid. No rig currently, but it will be in the making a couple years from now. I simply have to retire first and move to a place where we will be able to store the future "Miss Montana" in a garage or under cover. I've really just started to do my research and want to have a pretty decent knowledge base when we (wife "Bonnie") and I decide to pull the trigger.

We are not total Newbies as we owned an Airstream several years ago. Here's the Reader's Digest version - We lived in the DC area and were both fed up with our jobs. In the fall of '99 we quit our jobs, bought a used '88 Excella 25' Rear Twin, hitched up and took off for 3 months around the country. Neither one of us had ever towed a thing in our lives; not even a garden cart behind a lawn tractor. Nothing like trial by fire! We had a '96 Tahoe which was set up with a towing package from the factory, and the dealer told us it would work fine as a TV for that Excella. Now I know not to believe everything I hear from an AS dealer. We didn't have any issues, but that poor Tahoe was simply NOT the right TV for that rig. During our travels, we landed in Montana to visit a friend and while there I got not one, but two job offers! After lots of prayer we decided to go for a big life change and move to Montana. My future boss let us finish up our 3-month trip by the way. We sold the Excella shortly after that trip because I simply did not feel comfortable towing it back to Montana in January.