Old 09-30-2012, 08:56 AM   #1
1996 28' Excella
Banks , Oregon
New to RV

I am not only new to this Airstream community but I am brand new to RVing. I have never owned an RV of any type. I just bought a 1996 Excella. Don't know if it was a good purchase or not. I took the plunge because my wife are nearing retirement and wanted to see if this was for us.

Any advise on how to get started would be great. We are so new we don't even know how to load the unit for a trip.

SteveFE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:34 AM   #2
Rivet Master
1977 31' Sovereign
1963 26' Overlander
1989 34' Excella
Johnsburg , Illinois
Travelling by RV is different. Some people tour, other people camp. Some people use them for temporary housing out of the bad weather climates. What you carry depends on what you intend to do and how long you will be gone.

Our packing list varies. Sometimes bikes and various boats might be included. Some people drink the local water or drink out of the trailer tanks. Some people bring along bottled water. I travel with a half a tank of water, if I do not know where I will be camping. It gives me greater flexibility.

The weather can vary a lot, if you are going on a long trip, but there is plenty of room in a 28 for lots of layering.

You will need the usual personal items but will not be able to use your hair dryer, unless you find someplace to plug in. If you intend to use courtesy parking, bring along an extra long heavy duty extension cord and a 30 amp to 15 amp adapter. If you are into being social, a local club weekend rally might be a place to start.

dwightdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:51 AM   #3
Rivet Master
2007 30' Classic S/O
Somewhere , South Carolina