Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-04-2007, 06:06 PM   #1

williston , South Carolina
new to a/s

Hi, I'm new to a/s but have camped all my life. My dad always wanted an a/s but with 9 kids could not afford one. Recently bought a 1973 souvergn 31ft, skin in great shape, windows flaking, some leaking, some p/o
electrical changes read (surface mounted conduit ). Don't know if I want to do the full monty (for all to see) and not sure if I want to do some custom or go back original maybe some could help there. I'm near columbia s.c. and might like to hook up with others with the a/s bug.
I started to do the demolition work figured that you don't know what you got until you can actually see it. The floor under the back window needs to be replaced but only for about 6-8 in. and some by the dinnet and the door. It is sure to be a bit of a project and I don't have the support of my wife she will change her mind though when it gets close to completion! I look forward to picking your brains for good ideas. Thanks in advance the post that i've read so far make me feel that the group is warm and inviting
pkean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2007, 06:13 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2016 25' Flying Cloud
Sunnyvale , California
Send a message via AIM to Condoluminum
Welcome...

Welcome to the Forums, and congrats on finally getting your Airstream.. Be sure and practice using the search feature in blue bar above, now that you've joined, as you'll find lots of interesting stories and information...

If your wife hasn't bought into the dream, I'd think getting trailer working quickly and cosmetically would be a good start, and then let her meet some of the members here at Forum Rally... You too could probably learn a lot from talking to other owners, and seeing things they've done, or talked to people who have hired shops to do restoration and finish work...