Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-02-2007, 10:04 AM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1968 26' Overlander
Eureka , California
New Owner

This is my first time posting a thread; so please bear with me. I live in the northern part of California among the redwoods on the Pacific Ocean in the City of Eureka. I am a new (first time) owner of a 1968 Overlander that is in need of restoring. I have some experience in restoring classic cars (and a 54 Chevy pickup) and I own and have restored a 1969 Kayot houseboat (which is a trailer on pontoons). I've been reading this forum for about two months now, and have found it contains a wealth of information which I've been using in familiarizing myself with my new project. Yup, the rear flooring in the bathroom has rot, which I'm in the process of replacing, the 12v electrical doesn't seem to work the way it should, and the axles need replacing. I'm sure there's more, but this is what I've been able to identify so far. So, I guess I've got my work cut out for me. My first question is there are four circuits in the main panel in the galley which I assume is for the 12v system. Can anyone tell me which circuit does what? I've disconnected each circuit one at a time to see which lights or fans stop working, but the kitchen and bathroom lights keep burning even when the hot leads (black wire) are disconnected from each of the breakers. I've checked the fuses and they all seem in good condition. I'm stumped. Thanks for your help.
Bobz Hog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2007, 10:44 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1968 24' Tradewind
Eureka , California
Hi there (I just Private Message'd you)- welcome!