Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-28-2012, 11:21 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

1972 27' Overlander
Penokee , Kansas
New Overlander owner from NW Kansas

Hello all,,

What a great site,, and group of people.. The wisdom and such goes way beyond what I have ever seen on other chat rooms or groups.

I am a farmer rancher in NW Kansas and have been on a search for a good used AS for seems like a life time.. The ones we found were way over priced or gutted.. Or 1500+ miles away,,

Been watching the one we ended up and got for over 2 years.. The fellow started out at $32,000 and the last listing he was down to real world value of $7700.. Unlike most of them we only had to drive 280 miles too go look it over.. Found he had sawed a large hole in the bedroom wall looking for the power inverter.. My GoD! ( price discount)

The shelves under the sink were in a pile but other than one small ding in the rear roof the body shell looks great..

While on our search for a good AS,, I gave up 2 years ago and got a 5th wheel (nameless tooth pick and staple wonder).. It had a small 6 in. gap in a rear corner of the body.. Turned out to have and rebuild the entire wooded body frame from the rear of the wheel wells to the roof.. The only thing that held the water heater in place and from falling on the road was the 5 cans of spray foam.. After seeing the construction of the stick and staple wonder,, it forced me another level harder to find a good solid AS to invest in,, not just patch together another stick and staple rolling money pit..

The other factor to put the push on finding a good Airstream was the RV show we went to in Kansas City the end of January.. We looked at 40 trailers or more and then came too the Airstream display.. It was the difference between a wooden wheeled covered wagon to the space station.. Our day at the RV show was over once we saw a new Airstream..