Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 11-16-2019, 12:58 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Apache Junction , Arizona
Smile New member shopping for FB to tow w 2015 x5 35d

Hi All,

Happy to be here. I am retired and just got a used BWM x5 35d.
It has the factory class III hitch on it with the 2 5/8 ball good for 6000# with 600# hitch weight.
I am thinking about a FB19, FB20 or FB23 as a full time RV for a few years to explore the western US and Canada in the summers.
I am new to RVs and will probably rent some airstreams to try them out before buying.
I am concerned about not having a sway control hitch or rear air suspension. Not sure that I should be or not. I hate to toss the $2000 factory hitch and spend the same for a sway control one.....
Any advice appreciated.

Thanks, Mark S
MES1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 01:22 PM   #2
jcl
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
Vancouver , British Columbia
In terms of the vehicle capacity (not the hitch capacity) I would be comfortable up to the 27 foot models, so no worries with the models up you listed.

I think you are better off without the air suspension. You need a weight distributing hitch anyway, and the air suspension just complicates things.

There have been various factory (dealer installed) hitch receivers depending on year of vehicle production. You need one with a 2” square that can take WD equipment, not the one with the detachable ball.

If you go over 23 foot models you should consider getting the receiver strengthened.

You will also need a trailer brake controller.

The X5 is a great tow vehicle, but like other vehicles, it needs to be set up properly.

Good luck and happy camping
jcl is offline   Reply With Quote