Old 11-20-2012, 10:14 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Williston , Vermont
New Member Hello and Qs

Hello All,

I have been ignorantly admiring Airstreams for many years. My problem is that I don't have any idea where to begin now that I want one--and I want one pretty soon.

My husband and I work too hard and have high stress jobs. Our kids still like us, but it won't be long before they won't (son age 11, daughter 9), or at least they won't admit to liking us. We want to take them on family vacations, including to many national parks, mostly during the summer but also at other times of the year.

I'm a big researcher, and I have been looking at Airstream sites for weeks. I cannot figure out where to do my research. My goal is to come up with a list of models that would work in terms of age, size, layout, and figure out what's available. I'd appreciate any help regarding the following:

1) Where can I go on-line to figure out the layout of the older models. Even in looking at classified ads, not everyone specifies the number of beds in the models. If there is a book, please tell me. I'll buy the book! If I'm missing places to read at this website, please let me know. Another thing I'd like to figure out are the technology upgrades in the newer Airstreams and which really make a difference.

2) Any free advice or comments based on the wish-list/information I've listed below would be hugely appreciated. For instance, if an Airstream expert reading this were to say, "I've narrowed it down to 3 options that suit your needs and they are. . . ."--well, I'd be thrilled, of course, and I'd start reading about those models.

So, here is my list: