Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 09-26-2018, 04:58 PM   #1
m32

HOUSTON , Texas
New Member: Greetings from Texas!

Hi all,

Just introducing myself and at the same time, I'd appreciate your input on my situation.

I work in the Oil and Gas industry and fly to Midland, Tx a few times a month. I have come to an agreement with my company that if I purchase the trailer, they will reimburse me $250/night for each night I stay. I am looking at buying a small airstream (either the Sport or Base camp) and parking it in Midland.

So I've never owned anything like this so I'm starting my research now and would love the community's expertise on a few questions:

1. What are the true daily costs to run the trailer? I know there are trailer park costs but I am planning to park it in my buddy's back yard. If that's the case, are my out of pocket costs only just gas/diesel to run the generator and water? Is it possible to park it at a friend's backyard or do I have to stay at a trailer park?

2. Is the Sport or Base camp the right options to look at? I do plan on using this trailer for personal use to move 2-3 people around.

3. Is this a good idea and would you do the same? I figured that I could save the company money while at the same time, have them help pay for it. I suspect I will be charging the company back ~$1K per month.

Any input is greatly appreciated!
m32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 05:20 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois
Send a message via Yahoo to overlander64
Thumbs up Member New to Airstreaming

Greetings m32!

Welcome to the Forums and the world of Airstreaming!

Quote:
Originally Posted by m32 View Post