Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-01-2013, 06:08 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1970 31' Sovereign
Asheville , North Carolina
New airstream owner from Asheville, NC - mobile office conversion!

Howdy everyone!

I just today purchased what is said to be a 1970 airstream! I'll upload the pictures from the Craigslist post. It is in pretty decent condition on the exterior (just dirty) and the inside isn't too moist or anything, it is pretty bare, which is what I wanted.

After doing some research, I think it's a 31' - a little bigger than I wanted, but not bad at all, for the price. I paid $2100, with some solar panels + battery, a propane heater...

I'm looking to convert my new Airstream into an office for me. I'm a young Web Developer and working from home is difficult for me because I don't have that specific "space" to work in. I want that to be my airstream.

I know no one cares about anything until there are pictures - so here they are!

Can you guys tell from the pictures if it is in fact a 1971 and what length/model it is? I'm so stupid in forgetting to take a picture of the serial/label.

Looking forward to my Airstream adventures!
jmlabs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 07:17 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 17' Caravel
Newport , North Carolina
So you are going to relocate it? You need to check the bearings but if you are not moving it on a regular basis then the axles are on a lower priority then the electrical, so take some more pictures and move it then seal any leaks!
Cliff
Old 11-01-2013, 07:29 PM   #3
Sbb
begorragirl

2017 25' Flying Cloud
Denville , New Jersey
Welcome, I offer no help on your question, but understand your intended use...I was out in my"office" just tonight working on my website, had a nice nap in there earlier today too.
2001 Teardrop, Mountain Hardware Tent
For some perfection takes a little longer...