Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-19-2009, 06:11 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1973 31' Sovereign
Mishawaka , Indiana
New - 73 International

Hello Everyone I am new to this wonderful message board. My husband and I just bought a 1973 31' International Airstream. We will be working on restoring it. My hopes are that we get it out this year for camping but I am not sure if that is going to happen. I have come here to research how to restore this wonderful airstream.
damerritt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 06:14 PM   #2
2 Rivet Member

1975 31' Sovereign
Canby , Oregon
Welcome to the forum, glad to see another 31footer saved.
davenpow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 06:30 PM   #3

2015 25' FB Flying Cloud
2012 23' FB Flying Cloud
2005 25' Safari
Santa Rosa Beach , Florida
Welcome from the Florida Panhandle

Welcome to the Forums. We're glad to have you with us.

You've the right place for all things Airstream.
WBCCI #3628 -- AIR #14872 -- TAC #FL-7
2015 FC 25' FB (Lucy) with ProPride
2020 Silverado 2500 (Vivian)
2023 Rivian R1T (Opal)
moosetags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2009, 07:55 PM   #4
Rivet Master
Airstream Dealer

Corona , California
Quote:
Originally Posted by damerritt View Post
Hello Everyone I am new to this wonderful message board. My husband and I just bought a 1973 31' International Airstream. We will be working on restoring it. My hopes are that we get it out this year for camping but I am not sure if that is going to happen. I have come here to research how to restore this wonderful airstream.
The first thing you should do is prepare a list of what needs to be replaced or repaired, and the costs, so that you will have some sort of idea what the bottom line might be.

Other than body damage, one of the larger expenses can be the axles. The following will teach you how to check them out in about 30 seconds.