Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 10-28-2013, 05:43 PM   #1

1972 31' Sovereign
Estes Park , Colorado
New

Hello,
I am new to Airstreams let alone having any travel trailer experience. Tons of time moving large loads in the Military and sleeping outdoors in the desert, never combined the process until now. I just purchased a 1972 31ft Sovereign in Illinois that has been sitting for 18yrs. Leaving this next week for the pick up. Thanks to Air Forums I know the issues that can come from sitting for that period of time. Bought new tires, new bearings and will have the unit checked by local RV repair in Western Illinois. Have a 2006 F150 5.4 Super Cab with a 6ft bed. Has the tow package and new tires. Any other insight on towing would be greatly appreciated.
PS: Towing from Amboy Illinois out to Estes Park Colorado.
Thanks,
Brendan
jager61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 06:43 PM   #2
Rivet Master

2016 25' Flying Cloud
Sunnyvale , California
Send a message via AIM to Condoluminum
Welcome!

Brendan - Welcome to the Forums and Airstream ownership.. Hopefully you bought the Airstream for camping and travel, and not because a residence was hit by flooding or fires...

Tires, bearings and brakes are all potential issues after sitting that long.. The trailer drum brakes could be rusty, and they are actuated by the 12V battery in the trailer, so you may have to expect some brake work and a new battery in addition to bearings and tires...