Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-20-2006, 11:09 AM   #1
prettytall

Tallville , California
Need Help Choosing Trailer Please!

howdy all!

firsttimer here!

im need guidence on the purchase of a small airstream travel trailer. i want to realize a dream of traveling around the country with my Black Lab, work and live life. im a finish carpenter who works on ultra high end custom homes, so the limits of my restoration is pretty much open. its only me (all 6'5"), my i dog, and tools. i would like to pick up a cheap "watta deal!!" travel trailer which needs help, restore to my taste, hit the road.

Questions -

1) what model(s) should i consider, there are so many?

2) how much should i expect to budget for a restoration?

3) where can i find such a trailer?

4) what are some of the points, issues, pitfalls of concern?

5) good sites/referals for help and parts/supplies?

thanks in advance!

thetallone
tallone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2006, 11:16 AM   #2
3 Rivet Member
Commercial Member

1950 25' Cruiser
Currently Looking...
Currently Looking...
Lebanon , Ohio
From personal experience....

Do not buy a project to begin with......
Do you want to use the bathroom & shower in this?
Are you planning on dry camping or staying in a park/space with hook-ups for sewer/water/electric?
What is your tow vehicle?
Are you going to make the bed up/down every day or are you going to want a fixed bed?
Are you comfortable in a twin bed or a double bed?
Is the dog sleeping inside?
Do you want air conditioning in the summer and heat in the winter?
Do you plan to cook your meals and store your food in the trailer?
Do you plan to store much beyond clothes and necessary personal toiletries?
Do you care if it gets stolen?
Answer these questions truthfully and that will be your starting point....

Good luck!
Jim Jarzabek is offline   Reply With Quote