Old 01-18-2013, 03:00 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

beaumont , Texas
need forum wisdom and experience

Hello everybody, I hope this is the right spot for a question. I have been shopping for our first Airstream for 4 months now, and have found 4 that I really like. I need help before we jump, 1 is a 75 argosy 28' , nice interior, ready to tow, dinette, good shape. has a dent in rear panel, this one is 5000.

2. this is a '64 24' Airstream, nice interior, but will need ac work, propane tanks, some body work, etc, it is in original condition with patched plumbing. this is 5500.00 .

I have followed the classifieds and found what I think is a nice '73 27' twin bed model, the front has been customized into a surround seating area, lots of work done on this one, solar power, new axles tires, brakes.. but it does not have a grey tank. this one is 8500.00.

hold on, I only have two more.. one is in my state, the only one from Texas that I have seen. in original condition, '67 25 ft. supposedly a really desirable one. with center double bed..not pretty.. big dent in rear, but everything works inside original decor not in great shape , newer tires installed. this is at 7500, but accessible.

the last one is at a dealer in Michigan who will deliver halfway.. '67 27' / real nice, serviced, new plumbing, propane systems good, new tires, axles, tanks, new fresh water tank. interior nice but for a delaminating panel over one of the twin beds. this one is polished and looks great except for the wrinkled wall, it is 12,000.

Please jump in with any opinions at all, I trust this site, and have read a lot about buying and restoration. I can do a lot of it myself, and want to, I just don't want the heavy lifting.. a/c tanks, fridge etc. I can paint , re do interior, flooring and re do the exterior/ Just cant make the decision on where to start. (other than we have sold our motorhome, and an '07 puma trailer to get to the airstream.. )