Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 06-26-2017, 10:22 AM   #1
4 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Fort Davis , Texas
My Kids think it’s crazy, Grandkids think it’s cool

Hi, my name is Pat Davitt, I’m a retired Systems Architect and now live in the Davis Mountains of West Texas. After much research on this forum and others I am exploring doing a “retromod” of a tandem axle, vintage airstream. The exterior will be close to stock, but the interior and systems will be completely re-designed. The title of this post is the reaction, by my family, to this idea. I’m going with the Grandkids reaction. Don’t have a wife anymore, so it’s just me and Zorro, my Australian Shepherd. Thought doing a little traveling would be a good idea.

The standard electrical system in Airstreams and other brands is what triggered the idea of a retromod. I am looking forward to participating in Air Forums and hope to get to a Rally soon, even though it will be without trailer.

To start things off, attached below is my first attempt at a Power Wiring Design for my project. Since I plan on building a new frame with new axles, weight should not be an issue.

Also, I am not thin skinned, and welcome constructive criticism. I look forward to your comments.

Pat
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Electrical.jpg
Views:	264
Size:	249.6 KB
ID:	288222  
pdavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2017, 11:00 AM   #2
Half a Rivet Short

2017 30' Classic
2022 Interstate 24X
Carlisle , Pennsylvania
Hi

Welcome !!!!

A few crazy ideas and points:

1) Separate generator input with some sort of auto start capability.

2) Charge (or not) off of the 7 pin (or something else) from the tow vehicle