Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-24-2015, 06:50 PM   #1
2 Rivet Member

1976 25' Tradewind
Tallahassee , Florida
Rivet Millennial with a Mission

Hi there, I'm new. I don't know if anybody reads these, but here goes:

The idea of living out of a trailer (or a sailboat) was brain crack for me for a while when I was still in college, from as early as age 19. It was fun to dream about and discuss with my best friend, but I wasn't that serious about it. But I started watching more documentaries on tree houses and tiny houses when I turned 22 or so, and the tiny house movement seemed to be picking up around that time.

After I graduated and started renting out different spaces, the dream seemed like something that could become a reality. I started researching prices and wondered if it was possible for me. When I first mentioned it to my parents, I was still living far away from them and my dad thought it was kind of silly. He has a notion that people who lived out of trailers did so because they had no other choice - basically that they were one step up from being homeless. I didn't feel the same way - I felt it was a lifestyle choice, and one much more preferrable and cost-effective to renting until I found a place I liked enough to settle more permanently. Even if it cost the same, I would be putting money into something I owned and belonged to, rather than renting a space that belonged to someone else.

I mentioned it a few more times over the course of a year or so - I can't say where it turned from an idea to a goal, but at some point it did. I proved to my parents I was serious about it and they got more on-board with the plan. My plan became: move home, save up, and purchase an Airstream before I turned 25.