Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-26-2008, 12:05 AM   #1

Bremerton , Washington
Looking at buying

Went and looked at a '55 today. Fellow said it was a 30'? Won't bore you with details. Basicly it's fairly complete, but trashed. I'm curious what it takes to rewire and plumb it, to make it safely liveable. I'm a carpenter, so I'm not afraid of getting my hands dirty, but not sure what it would be like dealing with the rivits, etc. Not looking for a factory resto or even anything showy. Just looking for a simple place to live that I can tinker with. Also, some heads up as far as common problem spots to look out for would be appreciated. Here is a link to a couple pictures of the trouble areas I saw: 55 airstream Thanks for any info!
demulsion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 12:24 AM   #2
Rivet Master

Currently Looking...
West of Fort Worth , Texas
Welcome!
Tomorrow you will get more posts with useful info.
You mention safety. Is this a trailer for towing or sitting? I'll assume you'll be towing although you mention living in it.
Some of the things you'll want to either check yourself or have a qualified technition check is:
Brakes
Axles
Wheel bearings
Tires
All propane appliances
Electrical systems
Frame stability - rust?

As far as costs, be aware that the cost of parts alone will quickly rise even though you aren't looking for a complete restore. Add to that any shop time for things you may not be qualified to handle. (Propane appliances)
Good luck in whatever you do,
Dave
AIR #15800

"Wimpy" 1/2 ton 2002 GMC Sierra 4X4 Z-71 Gasser
2000 Safari SS 25'
Fyrzowt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2008, 04:24 AM   #3
Rivet Master

1974 27' Overlander
1954 26' Romany Cruiser
1960 26' Overlander
Rockingham County , New Hampshire
Send a message via AIM to balrgn Send a message via Yahoo to balrgn
Wow, that's a pretty big leap.