Old 01-18-2013, 04:43 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

Currently Looking...
Santa Fe , New Mexico
Just Fallen in Love...total newbie

Hello all. I just returned from a vacation in Florida where I stayed at a retirement RV park in Davenport. No, I'm not retired, I'm only 29. My partner and I went down to spend a week with his grandmother. She owns two RVs in the park, one she uses for family when they come to visit her, a 1970 something Airstream. It was my first encounter with an Airstream.

Those sleek lines, that old charm and character struck me right away. Over 300 RVs in the park and I was staying in the only Airstream. I fell in love with it. It's been a week, and I can't get it out of my mind.

As a result, I am looking to buy my first trailer. I live in Vermont and from what I can see there aren't many in this area. I've only just begun exploring the forums and classifieds and wanted to introduce myself and see if anyone could offer me a few tips. My partner and I are looking for a trailer that would suit us and our two dogs (a 10 lb Chihuahua mix and 40 lb Basset mix). We are hoping for something road ready and usable, but we aren't afraid of putting a little work into either, and preferably something within a 6 hour drive of VT (New England and upstate NY areas).
Any tips and encouragement would be greatly appreciated.
Looking forward to hearing from you all.
Thanks.
TIM

Old 01-18-2013, 06:05 PM   #2
Rivet Master

1966 22' Safari
1954 22' Flying Cloud
Saline , Michigan
I suppose the first thing to know is what kind of TV (tow vehicle) you have. That will determine the size of AS you will be looking for. Then what are your plans finance wiss. Buy cheap and spend time and money making it road worthy, or buy not so cheap and be roadworthy but maybe not finished, expensive and finished.. Good luck with your search.

Barry & Karen in Mi.

Old 01-18-2013, 06:17 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

1964 26' Overlander
1978 Argosy Minuet 6.0 Metre
Anna , Illinois