Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-29-2005, 02:50 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

1985 25' Sovereign
Susanville , California
Thumbs up jessl

Hello, My name is Jess and I am new to Airstream. I am recently retired from the U.S. Forest service. I currently own a home in Susanville, Ca. My children are all raised and I want to see more of this beautiful country we live in. Being single, I am considering full timing since there is no one to object. Just have to figure out what to do with all my stuff. I have waaay to much stuff.
I have purchased a '85 Sovereign 25' w/twin beds in the back and side bath. Dry weight is supposed to be 4900 with the GVWR of 6400 lbs. I currently own a Toyota Tundra 4x4 SR5 access cab. The towing capacity is supposed to be 7100 lbs. I really like this truck and hate to part with it but I am leaning toward a 3/4 ton, mostly due to threads I've read here. The Toyota rides so good that it makes me think that the suspension is too light in the rear to handle the 755lb. tongue weight. Does anyone have any experience towing a trailer of this size with a Tundra?
jessl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2005, 04:36 AM   #2
Rivet Master

1976 31' Sovereign
Currently Looking...
Chandler , Oklahoma
I am no expert in towing capacity and there are others on the forum that know a great deal more than I do. That said, I have a Tundra, SR5 step side pickup I use to pull my 79 24ft Argosy. My Argosy has a weight of 3800, with a tongue weight of around 520. The Tundra pulls it wonderfully; however, I suspect I would want more power to pull anything bigger and heavier full time. The Tundra is listed as a 7/8, 3/4 ton. Always found that confusing. I'm not sure I would like to pull the Argosy in the mountains with this tow vehicle. Just my two cents. Welcome to the forum.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0036.JPG
Views:	129