Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 02-26-2008, 02:18 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
gilbert , Arizona
I'm new. Need for surge protector?

Hello everyone and thank you for all of your informative posts. I have been lurking for some time now but my wife and I will get our band new baby (08 International CCD 27' FB) next Friday, so thought I better register and introduce myself.

We live in Phoenix AZ and I am a semi-retire community college professor. My wife worked for years as office manager in a law firm. We both love to see and hike state and national parks and so are about to begin traveling for 2-6 months of the year. Too hot in Phoenix in the summer anyway.

My first question is do I need a surge protector between the power outlet and the AS's power cord? A tech at Airstream told my salesman that it was not necessary because of the circuit breakers on the AS. Various RV forums and articles in magazines say you do. The service manager here in Mesa said get one rated above 1000 joules (sp?).

I know there is a range of surge protectors from the cheap to expensive and they do different things.

Thanks for your reply?
bcombs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 02:29 PM   #2
4 Rivet Member

2007 25' Safari FB SE
Blaine , Washington
Get one. I blew out a generator on my former RV, a Monoco Coach. $1500 repair. It was just still under warrenty by 2 months. There was a surge at a private RV park where I was plugged in.

John
Relentless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2008, 02:36 PM   #3
Rivet Master

2006 25' Safari FB SE
St. Cloud , Minnesota