Old 02-16-2016, 07:32 PM   #1
1 Rivet Member
1965 22' Safari
Cumming , Georgia
I'm a newbie!

Hello! My name is Patti and I live the ATL area. My husband and I have recently acquired a 1965 Safari. Its condition is pretty much original and rough.... in desperate need of some love. We don't have any idea what we are in for-- YES, we are making all the rookie mistakes. But, I love the camper and I'm excited to be a part of the Airstream nation. Goal #1 is to shore it up and get it safe to tow. Next we will assess what needs to be done to make it livable. I pray that it will not need a shell-off restoration. We do not have the facilities, the expertise or the resources for that. I would like to find someone to rehab the plumbing, electrical, and the skin which is what I have earmarked the largest part of the budget for. The inside intimidates me less. With a good cleaning, new flooring, and new cushions, I can make do. Doing this, (I think!) will preserve our right to a more comprehensive interior restoration down the road.

I have read enough to know that we are in way over our heads. Does anyone have anything encouraging to say? Thanks in advance!

pamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2016, 07:49 PM   #2
Figment of My Imagination
2012 Interstate Coach
Metairie , Louisiana
Welcome to the AirForums!

If you want some encouragement, just remember that we learn by doing. Making rookie mistakes is one of the best ways to quit being a rookie.

Your priorities seem to be in the right place.
1 - Make it safe.
2 - Make it comfortable.
3 - Make it uniquely yours.
In that order.

And considering how you're already mentioning a shell-off, it sounds like you do have an idea what you're in for, at least for the worst case. Which means that it will either be easier than you think to fix'er up, or it will be just as bad as you fear, but won't be worse.