Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-07-2010, 01:02 AM   #1
Crazy Montanan in Texas

Currently Looking...
Houston , Texas
Howdy from the 3rd coast!

Howdy everyone, I am Nick, originally from south west Montana, now I reside in Corpus Christi Texas.

I have full-timed in an RV for 3 years, it helped me save enough money to get my current business going. I also have traveled extensively I have seen 47 states, 3 Canadian Provinces and Mexico. I have over a million miles towing behind me between pickups with trailers all the way up to 8 axle heavy hauls weighing in at 137,000 lbs.

I am also a Veteran of the US Navy.

I live with my girlfriend Kena

and my best buddy Dexter

(He also doubles as my security system )

I am looking around right now learning what I can, I really want an airstream, my last trailer was a screaming POS, this time around I really want to do it right.

I am thinking this winter I am going to pick up a 27-31' International, yank the shell off the frame and build a new stronger frame for it with 2x6x3/16" box tube for the rails, and 6x1.5x1/8" box tube for the cross members, along with air ride suspension, and im going to lift it and upgrade to 35" tires that are going to be the same as I am running on the tow vehicle I am hopefully picking up next week, it is a 51 Willys wagon that is also going to get the full frame treatment and it will be re-powered with a Chevy 327 with Vortec heads and a TBI setup, along with a NV4500 5 speed, 205 transfer-case, (possibly with a 203 doubler since I have 2 of em laying around) and a pair of Dana 60's I have been saving.

I have a serpentine drive setup that I have also picked up for it, and I am going to run a Vintage air AC/heat system in the Willys to keep it nice and cool on the hot Texas days.