Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 08-07-2017, 08:32 PM   #1

Currently Looking...
Wichita , Kansas
Howdy

Hi, I’m new to the Airstream Forum. I don’t have an Airstream at this time but as soon as I can retire I plan to live and travel in an Airstream full time.
HighRoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 08:34 PM   #2
The Tin Man

2017 27' International
SoCal , California
Welcome to the Forum! You are among kindred spirits!
WBCC #4913
sandollars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2017, 10:01 PM   #3
Figment of My Imagination

2012 Interstate Coach
From All Over , More Than Anywhere Else
Welcome!

If you can afford it, you might consider buying your Airstream before you retire, and take short trips every time you get time off from work.

I did exactly that. I bought my Airstream in December 2011, but didn't retire until January 2015. In the three years in between, I took at least 10 trips a year, ranging from 3 days to 9 days in duration. That gave me plenty of time to get used to all of the systems and decide whether Airstreaming really was a suitable retirement lifestyle for me. Every trip was "retirement practice." Then, when I retired and I could devote more time to Airstreaming, I was already past the steep learning curve and I could jump straight to enjoying the experience. In fact, I celebrated my retirement by going to the 2015 Canopener rally less than a week after I retired, going early and staying late just because I finally could set my own schedule.