Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 04-01-2015, 09:45 AM   #1
1 Rivet Member

Old Greenwich , Connecticut
Hi, new to the forum and trailers

Hello all!
My name is David, from Old Greenwich, CT & the proud owner of a 1959 Avion R23 Rover.
I've been reading quite a few threads & gathering as much of the vast knowledge that all of you have been kind enough to share.
My Avion is in need of a bit of work. It's mostly original exterior is in excellent shape but the interior is a mess. The bathroom was removed to repair the floor but never reinstalled & there is a soft spot at the main door & just to the right of it as you enter.
I'm a builder & after reading several threads on how repairs should be done, I'll have the floor fixed in no time.
We are boaters & summers are spent on Long Island Sound & the new England area on out 50 Hatteras so we really aren't planning on doing too much with the Avion. In fact, we have three acres & we want to use this more of a "home camping" destination & set up a nice little camp site where the kids (daughter 10 and son 13) can have friends over for camping.
I know some may cringe at this but the plan right now is to remove the stove, leave out the bathroom and add several bunk beds. I'd also like to panel the walls & ceiling with a cherry veneer. I love wood & was disappointed to see that these Avion's didn't have much.