Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Airstream Forums > Airstream Community Forums > Our Community > Member Introductions
Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in

Old 01-07-2006, 06:38 PM   #1
3 Rivet Member

1964 28' Ambassador
Oklahoma City , Oklahoma
Hello - new 64 Ambassador

I'm new to this site, new to owning a 28' Ambassador, new to having the neighbors looking at me with the multiple expressions of curiosity, disdain, and amusement on their faces. I'm hoping to become their sole supplier of Shadenfreude during the months of restoration. I design custom homes for a living. I'm challenged by the aluminum capsule to design a comfortable environment with modern technology (where possible) and an interior motif that remains true to the era.

Where to start? I'm just learning about the mechanical, electrical, and plumbing parts of the Airstream and hope to gut and catalog all the interior parts prior to viewing the structural elements. The trailer sat in a field in Oklahoma as a condo for the local mouse population. All electrical wiring became relocated nesting material (I'm assuming). Anyway, I hauled it from Alberquerque to Phoenix without the benefit of trailer brakes or stabilizer bar...I know, I know, I can't tell you how many times I thank the Lord for my deliverance down from the Mogollon Rim. Never will I do anything that naively stupid again! If I had a dollar for every 18 wheeler that tried to vortex me off I-40, I could actually afford to have someone restore the thing for me.

Looking forward to all your help in the coming months and anticipate making some new friends.
Ambie '64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2006, 06:57 PM   #2
Naysayer

1968 24' Tradewind
Russellville , earth